We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

What Car? Q&A - Is this internet service legitimate?

10 August 2006
Q: The internet service www.autoebid.com sports your What Car? logo at the bottom of its user guide. Does this mean you have heard of it or sponsor it in some way. In other words, can you tell me if it is a legitimate business?
Norrie Lynn, by email


A. You are right to be cautious about web-based businesses, and it's worth checking them out before parting with your money.

Our logo on the webpage you're referring to links through to a review of autoebid.com published in What Car? magazine in August 2005. So yes, we have heard of it, and believe that it is a legitimate business, although we do not sponsor it in any way. It has since won awards from the Department for Trade and Industry.

The site publishes its contact details in full, including its address, which is a useful indicator when you're checking out a company's credentials.