We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    4 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
Fiat 500
41 reader reviews for Fiat 500 Hatchback.
  • 1.4 T-Jet Abarth 3dr

    Jason Cole , Essex . Date: 16/02/2013
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      32

    My car

    This is our 2nd 500. An Abarth, we had a 1.2 Sport before (reviewed here 18/01/09). We got well over 50% of the purchase price back after 4 years, a small discount on the A500 and an interest free deal. OK, the boring stuff done. What's it like? Fantastic! I find myself just going for drives for fun, taking the long way home etc.

    The interior is a nice step up, with a thicker leather steering wheel and upgraded trim. The optional leather seats are superb, and equipment levels are high; AC, reverse parking sensors, fog lights, auto dipping, mirror, the excellent Blue and Me system, 7 airbags, heated mirrors and all the usual 500 trimmings. Styling is spot on, the A500 looks like an angry mouse on steroids. We have the standard 16 inch alloys, and the ride is just fine. I don't know why so many reviews say it rides harshly.

    In normal mode it feels a bit strangled and the steering is light. In sport mode it feels like a bomb has gone off under the bonnet. It can be manic, but it's best feature is the really torquey low down pull. The sound is amazing, with snarls, pops and bangs.

    It has loads of grip and corners accurately and stays flat. We are only just over 1k miles in, but are seeing 32mpg mixed(mainly urban) and 42mpg on a run, both with spirited driving.

    In summary this is just a great, practical, fun and pretty rare car. It puts a smile on your face every time you drive it, and turns routine journeys in events! Highly recommended.

  • 1.4 T-Jet Abarth 3dr

    Richard Hargrave , Herts . Date: 01/01/2013
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      37

    My car

    We have just replaced a 500 Twinair with an Abarth. The TA was writtebn off in a big accident and we walked away and so we wanted another car that was quicker and equally safe. So it was an easy decision!

    The interior is a definate step up, the seats are superb, I would have liked auto climate control, instead of manual air con, but we had to buy what was avaliable following the accident.

    Abarths are rare, we have seen none on the road in six weeks! and this adds to the exclusivity tghat Mini & DS3 drivers can never have. This will help the resale price too.

    You do get noticed, ours is Legends Blue with 17" white petal wheels, stripes and mirrors and it really stands out, some love the colour, some don't. I think it looks fantastic.

    The ride quaility has been critisised, but I really think its fine, well controlled, not too bouncy. You do have to remember this is a small City Car with a powerful engine, its never going to be like a limo!

    The Italian are very good at making small cars with a bit extra sonething thrown in.

    Its a shame that What car and other magazines won't admit it

  • 1.4 T-Jet Abarth 3dr

    Alan Downie Date: 01/05/2012
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      47

    My car

    Car purchased 29.12.11 1st review 01.05.12 2nd Review 24.10.13

    Bought car nearly 2 years ago with 19k on clock. Clock now reads 39k on it.

    The story so far.

    Had to replace 2 front Head lights - Local quick fit sorted easy. Front Shocks were replaced under warranty after 22k on clock. And the rear boot release was replaced under warranty. It jammed and had to use key fob to open.

    At 22k though, ALL disc brakes AND pads needed replaced! Now i am not a hard driver and was surprised this needed done! Abarth Dealer ship wanted close to £800 all in! I priced the same parts and if you know what you are doing, can get all parts for £200-250 for non esse esse cars!

    Bluetooth works fine with Iphone 4S. USB socket i can only get working with a USB stick. Does not work with Iphone or MP3 players.

    Exterior, couple of stone chips on bonnet but overall don't have any complaints for the exterior of the car VS its age. Interior, nothing to complain about!

    Still Drives really well, but doesn't like pot hole filled roads!

    Car is amazing on the fuel! I get over 50mpg driving on A Roads! Insurance for a 32 year old coming in for me at £280-300

    overall, a damn fine car!

  • 1.4 T-Jet Abarth 3dr

    Andrew Richmond , Nortants . Date: 06/02/2009
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars

    My car

    Took one of these for a test drive and was impressed. Feels quicker than you'd think. Still, the Essesse upgrade is a rip off! You're in Mini cooper S territory there and even though it's got a bit of a stigma (mostly driven by estate agent "types"..) attached, it's still a better car.

    Seriously thinking of buying one.

    P.S

    You'd have to be an idiot to think you could out-race an M3 in one of these.

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014