We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    3 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
51 reader reviews for Alfa Romeo 156 Saloon.
  • 2.0 TS Lusso 4dr

    Rick Hough , Cheshire . Date: 04/06/2007
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I bought this on eBay a month ago as a cheap thrill machine for commuting. It's a one-owner (64,000 miles), silver, 1999, 2.0 TS with blue leather, wood rim steering wheel and white dials and cost £1700 (in May 2007).

    Having owned over 50 cars including MGs that I rebuilt from scratch I have to say this Alfa represents fantastic value for money. The car runs perfectly and handles absolutely superbly in all conditions, with limited body roll, yet real comfort.

    The heart of this car is the free-revving engine. It wails as you approach 7000rpm and is a delight. Performance is very accessible, even to someone like me who isn't the fastest driver on earth by nature!

    Actually I fear for my clean licence, because unless you keep a hawk-eye on the gorgeous speedo it is all too easy to creep over the limits - this car has to rev, it demands that you accelerate.

    I am well versed in the failings of Alfa Romeo cars having owned a Sud 20 years ago, but I have found this (well serviced) car to be a delightful thing with every switch, gauge and control performing as expected.

    I noted that one reviewer (Mr De Jong) didn't rate the handling and compared it unfavourably to a 4x4. I can only say that the car he was given must have had a serious fault - sounds like a broken spring or detatched shock absorber maybe?

  • 2.0 TS Lusso 4dr

    A Snowden Date: 02/06/2007
    • Overall verdict
      2 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      2 out of 5 stars

    My car

    Where do I start? I had a 2.0 TS for two years but now have a 3 Series (relief).

    Build quality is shocking - half the dashboard lights didnt work, the rear electric window kept coming down, the bonnet wouldnt stay shut, the key fob packed up, the air-con packed up, the tiny glove box fell apart, and the engine hunted and wouldn't rev freely - I could honestly go on.

    It came to the point where I wouldn't let my wife and three-year old go out in it. Now I have a 323 with 100,000 miles and everything works on it and it feels like it has just left the factory.

  • 2.0 TS Selespeed 4dr

    deanne williams , hampshire . Date: 05/05/2007
    • Overall verdict
      2 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    i purchased a 2.0 ts selespeed w reg 3 months ago,i got to drive it for about 3 weeks!the gear kept sticking in 1st,which meant if you turned on the engine it wouldnt start(not good after just buying petrol and breaking down with 4 kids in the car!)alfa specialists took it away and 'fixed the transmission'but on my first time out it caught fire!my dealer kindly offered me a manual alfa,but that had too many problems aswell.i feel they have too finely tuned engines once touched its like opening a can of worms!!!

  • 2.0 TS Veloce Selespeed 4dr

    Simon Butler , Hants . Date: 17/04/2007
    • Overall verdict
      2 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    This car is beautifully designed, the engine purrs like a big cat and it's great fun to drive - just don't buy a Selespeed.

    I owned the car for a year, of which six months were spent off the road in various garages - the Selespeed unit kept getting stuck in gear. Alfa wanted £3500 to replace it! Unfortunately, as it turned out, they are about the only people that can.

    It was my dream car, but turned into a nightmare. To top it all off, upon the arrival of our baby daughter, it was virtually impossible to fit a baby seat on the rear leather seats. I had to spend £180 on a baby seat and it still wobbled.

    Personally, I would never by another Alfa Romeo. My mum has just bought a brand new 1.8 Lusso, despite my protestations. Good luck, Mum!

Alfa Romeo 156 Saloon

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014