We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    3 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
102 reader reviews for Audi A4 Saloon.
  • 1.9 TDI S line 4dr

    Stephen Jefferies Date: 16/01/2008
    • Overall verdict
      1 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars

    My car

    This is without doubt the worst car I have had the misfortune to own.

    The car was delivered brand new on 06-09-07 and since then has had persistent faults which Audi seem either unable or unwilling to resolve, or to prefer to ignore;

    There was a loud whining sound from the front end and Audi replaced the gearbox. This only made the problem worse. Audi then said the noise was "characteristic" and wanted nothing to do with it.

    Then the grille trim on the driver's airbag module split when I pressed the horn button. Audi replaced this and guess what? It happened again with the new unit.

    Then the sat-nav decided it would show me moving in a completely different direction to where I was. Audi replaced this and guess what? It happened again with the new unit. I drove from Bristol to Cheltenham and when I arrived the sat-nav thought I was in the sea.

    Even worse was to come when I witnessed a serious accident and car fire and was unable to tell the emergency services where I was resulting in a delay in their arrival.

    Then I discovered the reversing lights were sticking on while I was driving forwards.

    It is over 4 months since this car arrived and it is not resolved. I let them know how badly I thought of them in a customer survey 3 months ago and I still haven't had any response.

    My message is this: avoid this car at all costs. If you are mad enough to buy an Audi A4 then do not expect any useful assistance or interest from Audi.

  • 2.0 TFSI S Line SE 4dr

    Steve Smith Date: 13/12/2007
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I bought the 2.0T FSI S-LINE Special Edition new in March 2007. The best bit about the car is it looks great, especially in the Phantom Black that I chose.

    The huge problem with the car is the crunchy gearbox. Now, I read about this sort of problem before I bought the car but was assured there was no problem. It is particularly bad when cold. I took it back to the dealer and was told that it is a known problem and some cars have had the gearboxes changed. I was just about to embark on getting mine rectified when the car was stolen. I'm hoping the replacement does not have the same problem.

    The 2nd large problem is that the front wheels spin easily in 1st and 2nd when there is a bit of damp on the road. I replaced the front typres at 8,500 miles at a cost of £360. Should have had the Quattro.

    Space in the back is retricted if, like me, the driver has the seat back.

    Apart from these issues, it's a lovely car!

  • 2.0 TDI 140 SE 4dr

    Philip Small Date: 02/10/2007
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    Bought nearly new with 50 miles on the clock, now down 28,000 in two years. Lots of power to drive fast and cruise control makes motorway driving easy once once you learn to turn it on and off with out flashing other drivers by mistake. Other bad points are that it's quite noisy, it has a cheap/flimsy armrest fitted, poor leg room in he back and not as good economy as I was led to believe - especally when having to add oil costs as well as diesel.

    Good points - looks good, drives well and especially works well over bumps. No service issues or faults as yet.

  • 2.0 TDI 170 S Line SE 4dr

    Paul Carew , Surrey . Date: 25/09/2007
    • Overall verdict
      2 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I picked up my nice new A4 'S' line special edition saloon 2.0 TDI on the 1st Sept 2007. Having previously owned an A2 sport 1.4 TDI and then an A3 2.0 TDI sport I must say that I am extremely disappointed.

    I drive mostly on motorways so ease of drive is of high importance, but I have to say that driving the A4 was not what i have come to expect from the Audi range. After about 60mph it becomes very skittish when encountering undulations and bumps. It tends to bounce and bob at the front end several seconds after going over a bump. Both the previous models i have owned being sports models only hit the bump and carried on (in a straight line).

    Looking at the car compared with other similar class of cars it seems to be very high off the ground and the engine protector almost completely covers in the underneath surfaces. I think this causes alot of air to go underneath it making it feel 'light' when a bump is encountered at high speed. Has anyone else encountered this problem and if so is there an answer?

    Also seating position is not good (for me) as i feel like i am sitting 'ON' rather than 'IN' it as the seat does not go down far enough.

    Fit and finish is of the usual high standard and is faultless, however personally i would rather my A3 from a drive point of view and it would knock spots off it's bigger brother.

Audi A4 Saloon

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014