We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    3 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
74 reader reviews for BMW 3 Series Touring.
  • 320d SE 5dr

    steve wakefield Date: 09/06/2008
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I bought a 20,000 mile 2006/56 320D SE Touring auto (leather, Business sat-nav, Bluteooth) from Dick Lovett Bristol in March 2008. I have now done some 3000 miles.

    The car was very poorly prepared for sale requiring an oil change service within 2 days, the wheels refurbing PROPERLY (and subsequently balancing, more of which anon), and the car totally re-valeting PROPERLY to remove overpowering smell of air freshener.

    That said, the spec was unusual and perfect for me.

    I have returned - come-what-may - 40mpg. The ride is very good - once I had the wheels balance by someone who knows what they are doing. Owners having issues with poor ride should check this - on rear wheels, too. You may be surprised. I test-drove a 325i on bigger wheels and found it gutless, tramliney and very rough-riding.

    Speccing from new I would have fully-adjustable seats, improved stereo and iPod connection too. The full-map sat-nav would be nice but this gets you around and the Bluetooth with the iDrive very good indeed.

    This car replaced an E270CDi auto estate and is faster, smoother and much better too drive. OK, smaller. The BMW 6-speed auto is superb.

    I drive a lot of very fast cars for a living - believe me, this is all you need.

  • 320i Edition M Sport 5dr

    Bob Brace , Herts . Date: 01/06/2008
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I recently bought a 2008 320d Msport auto. So far I have no complaints apart from storage space. The handling is precise with no signs of tramlining over rough roads. in fact the handling is superior to the Mercedes SLK 280 that this car replaced. Far more confident than the SLK. The run flats and sports suspension offer a pretty comfortable ride, less harsh than the Merc. So far I am seeing just over 44mpg on an auto box, but have not quite covered 1000 miles.

    The interior is a class act apart from there is minimal storage. Surprisingly the SLK was better in this respect. My big dissapointment is the iDrive system. It works and I am sure I'll get used to it, but it takes too many pushes, rotates and up/down clicks to select a destination. The voice system might be good, but you have to remember all the commands first...

    Running costs are too soon to tell, but the run flats are very expensive to replace, over £200 per tyre on the back.

  • 320i M Sport 5dr

    John Lewis Date: 27/05/2008
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars

    My car

    Bought 4 months ago. Fitted with 18” alloys, Bridgestone run flats.

    Pre-efficient dynamics so mpg not as good as later model. However, mpg is reasonable at currently 30 average overall with 37 achieved on a recent holiday. I am using super unleaded which is giving me a little more mpg than regular.

    The tramlining issue did occur (slight) when I got the car but tyre pressures were lower than recommended (2-3 psi too low!). I now run the fronts at about 1 to 2 psi above recommended and the problem has gone away. Steering feels very solid.

    Handling is astonishing, certainly better than anything I have ever driven. Speeds round corners are amazing and accomplished with minimum fuss; it’s as if you are on rails! I’ve noticed that other cars are nowhere near as composed. 6 speed box took some getting used to but the gears are well spaced. I use 5th at 30mph and above when quick acceleration not required. 6th gear at 45mph plus.

    M Sport seats are great and very comfortable. Really supportive – my 83 year old mother is very impressed! Interior quality is excellent, with easily cleanable trim which seems durable. Under floor space in boot useful. Rear seats very roomy and Touring has better rear headroom than saloon. The CD reads MP3 discs, but the maximum number of tracks is limited to 255!

    Pleased with the shape of the car with the M Sport bits. Car has a touch of class lacking in other makes. Not unhappy with my choice. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • 318d SE 5dr

    mike vaux , north yorkshire . Date: 25/05/2008
    • Overall verdict
      1 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I bought my 318d touring in June 2007. At 17k (around 7 mths old!) miles the clutch and flywheel gave up the ghost. I was 300 miles from home, the recovery service was APPALING, Enterprise, BMW's "chosen" provider gave me a micky mouse Renault Scenic. Around 3 days before dealer delivered back. The cab stunk of burned out clutch. Last week the brakes start binding to the point you are on a hill and take the handbrake off and you stay still!. Get into a traffic jam and as you come to a halt, you catapult through the windscreen (of course the seat belt restrains you luckily). So you report it to BMW (150 miles from home this time), who send a man out who tells you the sea sickness ride is a "diesel engine attribute" & not much about seized on brakes. Oh and the best statement "the car is not made to do 27k miles in 11 months"!!! Despite £450 in servicing I have paid?? Car picked up again by breakdown service as it got worse on the 150 mile trip home. Oh it's a bank holiday and guess what? Enterprise close at 12pm they have no cars, but I could have a Zafira. "By the way says me, I'm having my first holiday in 11 months and taking wife and dogs to Scotland, you wont mind my muddy dogs on the seats then says I?" OH NO YOU will be charged for damage...! Call BMW ask for a supervisor-NO CALL RETURNED-Prestige car my A*$e! Thanks BMW........

BMW 3 Series Touring

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014