We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 3 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    3 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
72 reader reviews for Citroën C3 Hatchback.
  • 1.4 16v HDi SX 5dr

    Davinia Green Date: 04/02/2006
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I've only had my citreon for five months, and have loved every minute in it. Unfortunately it recently got written off, but I can say that I am currently in the process of buying another one.

    It handles well on the road, is very nippy, and good to get into tight parking spaces. Its fuel consumption on motorway driving is way above average, although around town consumption could be better.

    My only complaints are that the rear seating space is limited, and the moduboard can be annoying at times.

    Overall, my daughter and I love it.

  • 1.4i SX Auto 5dr

    LEE BENGOUGH Date: 07/01/2006
    • Overall verdict
      3 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I have driven my brother's 52-reg Feb 03 C3 1.4i SX Auto. He has had problems from week one:

    March 2003 Driver's side electric window switch broke; May 2003 RDS CD warms up very quick and plays CDs badly; Aug 2003 Engine cut out on hill and came down it with no brakes; Oct 2003 Needed new brakes at only 15,000 miles; Dec 2003 New bulb for top brake light. Gear Box going into Snow mode on its own.

    Feb 2004 Car 1 year old and electric window switch broke again; March 2004 Going into Snow mode again. Oil was leaking into the gear box; June 2004 Finally agreed to replace the CD player; Aug 2004 wouldn't go over 8mph; Oct 2004 Brakes getting stuck; Nov 2004 Gearbox going into snow mode - needs new Gear Box

    Jan 2005 New gearbox finally fitted; Feb 2005 Shock absorders needed replacing; window switch broke again.

    It was a good car when it worked.

  • 1.6i 16v Exclusive Sensodrive 5dr

    LEE BENGOUGH Date: 07/01/2006
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I have owned my C3 now for just over eight months with nearly 7,000 miles on the clock. I had the Rainforest Green colour - I was lucky to have the last one, as they have stopped doing this colour now.

    I was a bit disappointed to see that there was no electric folding mirrors, no parking permit Holder, and no CD drawer - I had to buy one for £26.

    It's good on fuel on long runs; I have had 45mpg, which is the official figure. But it's not very good when doing town driving day-to-day. I have had just over 100 miles a week on £20 but if you do long journeys, it's really good. It has brilliant response when overtaking, and cruise control is very good. The automatic windscreen wipers could be better, though.

    The Sensodrive gearbox tends to change when there is no need to, and on junctions it tends to take a while to pull away. But this is where you can over-ride the change, which means you get more mpg than a normal automatic.

    Overall I am very happy with the car. I made the right choice.

  • 1.4 HDi LX 5dr

    Andrew Bishton , East Sussex . Date: 14/12/2005
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I've had a C3 for nearly two years and I've been very happy with it. The only problem I've had was that the alternator failed around about Christmas 2004 and it took 10 days to get it replaced. Otherwise, it has excellent economy - it's just gone over 40,000miles and averages 68mpg mainly A-road and motorway driving. Some interior trim could be better assembled.

Citroën C3 Hatchback

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014