We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    4 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
39 reader reviews for Fiat 500 Hatchback.
  • 0.9 TwinAir 85 Lounge 3dr

    Richard Hargrave , Herts . Date: 01/01/2013
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      44

    My car

    We bought a 500 Twinair Lounge to replace an elderly Alfa 147. We wanted something cheap to run before upgrading in a year or two.

    It was brilliant and did everything expected of it.

    Comofortable, even on the longer journeys from Herts to a short holiday in the Lake District, where we handled the Hardnott and Rynose Passes with ease and a big grin on our faces!

    What car? are totally wrong to give this little gem 3 stars and the boring box, the VW UP! 5 stars

    Unfortunately for us a Toyota Auris pulled out on us at a junction and we T-Boned it at 40 MPH

    Our little Twinny was a write off, but we walked away.

    Looking after us until the end.

    We had no hesitation in going for another 500 and this time we managed to get the money together to get an Abarth and that is even better than the TA!

  • 1.2 Pop 3dr

    NICK PAPA , NICOSIA . Date: 27/07/2012
    • Overall verdict
      3 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars

    My car

    This is not specific to the 500. It applies as well to the New Panda, the New Punto and a number of other cars. WHATCAR has recently come up with a very useful tool which indicates real life mpg for a specific models, driving conditions and style. Using this tool the FIAT 500 1.2 returns about 40 mpg and the Panda with the 1.3 diesel engine returns about 60mpg. I do about 12000 miles a year, 25 to 33% of which in town and i drive with economy in mind. So far, great. The confusing bit comes when you read the WHATCAR reviews for the Panda and 500. There the 500 1.2 Pop is recommended over the 1.3 diesel Pop, on the grounds of more financial sense. The initial outlay is around £2300 extra for the diesel. With 50% better fuel economy, £2300 will be recovered within a reasonable period of time, won't it? Plus the diesel engine provides better real world performance over the 1.2 petrol. I simply fail to see the logic behind the recommendation, unless i miss something. I believe WHATCAR's response would be of interest to many readers. Thanks

  • 1.2 Pop 3dr

    Ross Cadogan , . Date: 10/05/2012
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      40

    My car

    The Fiat 500 is a cute and endearing car. Several people have complimented it in the week that I have had one on hire. Inside and out the styling is retro. The dashboard is colored to match the exterior paintwork and features pretty, old-school buttons. The instrument display is a beautiful arrangement of concentric circles. It's a fun car to sit in and be seen in.

    Things are less good with the 1.2l petrol engine. It's chirpy enough, but very weak. It generates just enough power for city driving, but out of town the engine struggles. This is a city car, and at motorway speeds the engine feels out of breath and cabin noise is loud.

    It's a small car too. The boot is twee and rear leg room is cramped, though head and legroom are ample up front. Its small size does allow for easier parking and city maneuvering; Both of which are helped by the electric steering which can be made finger light at low speeds, but which feels detached at higher speeds.

    Fuel economy is reasonable but not brilliant. The little engine does need to be pushed quite hard which cannot help its consumption. The stop/start system works well in traffic.

    The 500 is a desirable car that never looks out of place. It is fine for around town but struggles on longer journeys. I suggest considering the 0.9l twinair over the 1.2l engine for a livelier experience, or if you want to overtake anything with reasonable safety.

  • 1.4 T-Jet Abarth 3dr

    Alan Downie Date: 01/05/2012
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      47

    My car

    Car purchased 29.12.11 1st review 01.05.12 2nd Review 24.10.13

    Bought car nearly 2 years ago with 19k on clock. Clock now reads 39k on it.

    The story so far.

    Had to replace 2 front Head lights - Local quick fit sorted easy. Front Shocks were replaced under warranty after 22k on clock. And the rear boot release was replaced under warranty. It jammed and had to use key fob to open.

    At 22k though, ALL disc brakes AND pads needed replaced! Now i am not a hard driver and was surprised this needed done! Abarth Dealer ship wanted close to £800 all in! I priced the same parts and if you know what you are doing, can get all parts for £200-250 for non esse esse cars!

    Bluetooth works fine with Iphone 4S. USB socket i can only get working with a USB stick. Does not work with Iphone or MP3 players.

    Exterior, couple of stone chips on bonnet but overall don't have any complaints for the exterior of the car VS its age. Interior, nothing to complain about!

    Still Drives really well, but doesn't like pot hole filled roads!

    Car is amazing on the fuel! I get over 50mpg driving on A Roads! Insurance for a 32 year old coming in for me at £280-300

    overall, a damn fine car!

Fiat 500 Hatchback

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014