We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    3 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
155 reader reviews for Ford Fiesta Hatchback.
  • 1.6 16v Ghia 5dr

    Matthew Challenger , Hampshire . Date: 10/10/2011
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      42

    My car

    Overall a well thought out little car. I am the 2nd owner of this 55 plate (Nov 2005) pre- facelift version which has currently covered just over 48,000 miles. I purchased this vehicle in August 2008 with approx 10,000 miles on the clock. It is very nippy around town, has good all round visibilty especially the view out of the back window making reversing and parking easy and does not feel out of it's depth on the motorway although it can feel a bit top- heavy whilst cornering on B- roads.

    Running costs are reasonable. It's cheap to insure, parts are cheap and easy to get hold of and if like me you know a local reputable independent garage (not a main dealer), service and maintanence costs are very low. Road tax is £165.00 per year but on the down side tyres (195/65R15) are a bit on the expensive side for a typical supermini. The interior is not the most exiting ever but is made of good, solid materials and is quite roomy for this class of vehicle offering a good (non- cramped) driving position, a well laid out dash board with easy to use controls and dials, plenty of leg and head room in the back and a decent sized boot.

    There were no reliability issues until last month when the horn broke costing me £50.00 to repair and over the last 2 weeks, I have noticed a squealing noise lasting 2- 3 minutes coming from under the bonnet when the engine is started up from cold which I suspect may be the water pump.

    Verdict: Because of the 2 recent problems, 4 stars out of 5.

  • 1.4 16v Zetec 5dr

    Matthew Challenger , Hampshire . Date: 10/10/2011
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      42

    My car

    Overall, a well thought out little car which is cheap to buy, run, insure, service and maintain with a local very reputable garage (not main dealer) although the road tax is £165.00 per year and the tyres (195/65R15) are a bit on the dear side for this size and type of vehicle. I find this car fun to drive. It is great around town, is easy to reverse and park and does not feel out of it's depth on the motorway although it sometimes feels a bit top heavy whilst cornering on fast B- roads.

    The cabin looks a bit on the boring side but is functional and made out of good quality materials including leather seats and the dash board is well layed out with dials and controls that are easy to use and understand. The driving position is not cramped and quite good, the rear leg and head room is excellent for this size of vehicle and the boot is a decent size.

    This car is a 55 plate (Nov 2005) which I bought in August 2008. It had done approx 10,000 miles with the one previous mobility scheme owner but has now covered just over 48,000 miles. There were no reliabilty issues until last month when the horn broke costing £50.00 to repair and over the last couple of weeks I have noticed a squealing noise that lasts about 2- 3 minutes after the engine is started up from cold which I suspect might be from the water pump. Hopefully these are just a couple of mid life blips and not the start of a long list of problems.

    A good effort from Ford which gets 4 stars out of 5 from me.

  • 1.3 8v LX 5dr

    Joshua Hellier , . Date: 26/09/2011
    • Overall verdict
      1 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      35

    My car

    The 1.3 Fiesta is disgracefully bad.. Without exaggerating I have had a serious issue once a month, literally since I drove it out of the dealership gates 11 months ago, as well as a lexicon of other smaller problems that are amounting into major problems.. Some examples are: -The car overheated driving home after buying it and had to be collected by the garage 4 miles from the dealer. -The heater, which had been fixed once a month after I bought it, no longer works which is a major issue in winter. (the cold setting on the fan also puts out luke warm air) -The drivers side door randomly swung open on the road because the latch holding it closed broke, I was going 50 mph. -The radio volume does its own thing. -The presumably fake steering wheel leather has entirely peeled away leaving a grotty looking foam under-layer. -The motor that works the front lights has malfunctioned and jammed. -The horn unit has gone (twice) -It will as of its second service, only work with ford brand spark plugs? (these cost a fortune compared to regular plugs) - There is a rattling noise from the engine, which has baffled 5 mechanics (four of whom are associated with ford) -On motor-ways the right rear door sounds like a bell chiming which does not sit well with passengers. -The tracking is consistently off. -There has been a minor problem with the electrics. -The alarm and immobilizer have malfunctioned twice and are currently broken... I won't go on, however the interior is in

  • 1.4 16v Style Climate 3dr

    Mr Smith , Oxon . Date: 15/02/2009
    • Overall verdict
      1 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      40

    My car

    AWFUL Car, it looks lovely but unfortunately when you go to any Ford dealerdhip for any warranty work (And you'll need to i assure you!!)you are given a huge helping of "Fobbing off", Fords lack of competence when it comes to repairing their own cars is amazing...in a bad way. I've now sold my 56 plate Fiesta 1.4 Style Climate after months of wasted trips to the local incompetent dealerships, Ford just can't build a car that does not get numerous faults which they are unable to rectify. Leaking Air con system, Knocking noise at rear of car, Squealing water pump, intermittent Radio / CD fault, Car idle all over the place. Simply put i'd NEVER touch another ford with a long dirty stick in my lifetime again....A warranty is only as good as the person working in their repair dept.....unfortunately a monkey could do better than Ford.....Fuel economy for this size car is also very poor.

Ford Fiesta Hatchback

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014