We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    3 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
156 reader reviews for Ford Fiesta Hatchback.
  • 1.4 16v Zetec 5dr

    Josh Wilkes , . Date: 12/12/2014
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      38

    My car

    Purchased my 54 plate Fiesta Flame just over a year ago as my first car and couldn't be happier with it! Had 55k on the clock and I've now taken that up to 65k; hasn't skipped a beat! For someone like myself it is the ideal car to own (under 25); 3dr version gives it a sporty edge, decent mpg, cheap insurance and renowned reliability. It steamrolls over the competition! (corsa, clio, 206 etc).

    Parts & servicing are reasonable. I had the water pump replaced with the cambelt as a pre-caution as I heard they were a weak spot on the car. The drive straps on the clutch decided to shear at 58k so a new clutch was fitted. Not really an issue as they can go at any time. And a leaky drive shaft seal, but I consider these very minor things.

    I'm 6" with quite long legs, but I've found the driving position relatively comfortable after finite adjustments. I use it mostly to drive to work along A roads and it powers along nicely through the gears and even has enough in reserve to do a few overtakes when required. It handles well being a hatch, but will under-steer when pushed hard. The exterior/interior styling is more than adequate, but lacks the modern feel and gadgets of the facelift model (Mk6.5). The cabin does emit the odd noise now and again. Take it over 75/80 mph and the windscreen wipers make an annoying buzz, even after fitting aero blades.

    All things considered, a great all-rounder! There's a reason why the 2 best selling cars in the UK are Fords!

  • 1.6 16v Ghia 5dr

    Matthew Challenger , Hampshire . Date: 10/10/2011
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      42

    My car

    Overall a well thought out little car. I am the 2nd owner of this 55 plate (Nov 2005) pre- facelift version which has currently covered just over 48,000 miles. I purchased this vehicle in August 2008 with approx 10,000 miles on the clock. It is very nippy around town, has good all round visibilty especially the view out of the back window making reversing and parking easy and does not feel out of it's depth on the motorway although it can feel a bit top- heavy whilst cornering on B- roads.

    Running costs are reasonable. It's cheap to insure, parts are cheap and easy to get hold of and if like me you know a local reputable independent garage (not a main dealer), service and maintanence costs are very low. Road tax is £165.00 per year but on the down side tyres (195/65R15) are a bit on the expensive side for a typical supermini. The interior is not the most exiting ever but is made of good, solid materials and is quite roomy for this class of vehicle offering a good (non- cramped) driving position, a well laid out dash board with easy to use controls and dials, plenty of leg and head room in the back and a decent sized boot.

    There were no reliability issues until last month when the horn broke costing me £50.00 to repair and over the last 2 weeks, I have noticed a squealing noise lasting 2- 3 minutes coming from under the bonnet when the engine is started up from cold which I suspect may be the water pump.

    Verdict: Because of the 2 recent problems, 4 stars out of 5.

  • 1.4 16v Zetec 5dr

    Matthew Challenger , Hampshire . Date: 10/10/2011
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      42

    My car

    Overall, a well thought out little car which is cheap to buy, run, insure, service and maintain with a local very reputable garage (not main dealer) although the road tax is £165.00 per year and the tyres (195/65R15) are a bit on the dear side for this size and type of vehicle. I find this car fun to drive. It is great around town, is easy to reverse and park and does not feel out of it's depth on the motorway although it sometimes feels a bit top heavy whilst cornering on fast B- roads.

    The cabin looks a bit on the boring side but is functional and made out of good quality materials including leather seats and the dash board is well layed out with dials and controls that are easy to use and understand. The driving position is not cramped and quite good, the rear leg and head room is excellent for this size of vehicle and the boot is a decent size.

    This car is a 55 plate (Nov 2005) which I bought in August 2008. It had done approx 10,000 miles with the one previous mobility scheme owner but has now covered just over 48,000 miles. There were no reliabilty issues until last month when the horn broke costing £50.00 to repair and over the last couple of weeks I have noticed a squealing noise that lasts about 2- 3 minutes after the engine is started up from cold which I suspect might be from the water pump. Hopefully these are just a couple of mid life blips and not the start of a long list of problems.

    A good effort from Ford which gets 4 stars out of 5 from me.

  • 1.3 8v LX 5dr

    Joshua Hellier , . Date: 26/09/2011
    • Overall verdict
      1 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      35

    My car

    The 1.3 Fiesta is disgracefully bad.. Without exaggerating I have had a serious issue once a month, literally since I drove it out of the dealership gates 11 months ago, as well as a lexicon of other smaller problems that are amounting into major problems.. Some examples are: -The car overheated driving home after buying it and had to be collected by the garage 4 miles from the dealer. -The heater, which had been fixed once a month after I bought it, no longer works which is a major issue in winter. (the cold setting on the fan also puts out luke warm air) -The drivers side door randomly swung open on the road because the latch holding it closed broke, I was going 50 mph. -The radio volume does its own thing. -The presumably fake steering wheel leather has entirely peeled away leaving a grotty looking foam under-layer. -The motor that works the front lights has malfunctioned and jammed. -The horn unit has gone (twice) -It will as of its second service, only work with ford brand spark plugs? (these cost a fortune compared to regular plugs) - There is a rattling noise from the engine, which has baffled 5 mechanics (four of whom are associated with ford) -On motor-ways the right rear door sounds like a bell chiming which does not sit well with passengers. -The tracking is consistently off. -There has been a minor problem with the electrics. -The alarm and immobilizer have malfunctioned twice and are currently broken... I won't go on, however the interior is in

Ford Fiesta Hatchback

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014