Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    3 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
157 reader reviews for Ford Fiesta Hatchback.
  • 1.25 16v Zetec 5dr

    kev swan Date: 07/10/2008
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      39

    My car

    Hi

    I bought a 1999 ford fiesta 1.2 zetec 5dr hatchback 6 months ago and it is a great car. It was owned by an older lady who bought it from new and had only 42,000 miles on the clock. The car is as nippy as a hot curry and on the motorway it can keep up with the big boys. Sure it has the street cred of going out with ann diamond and the fashion sense of bob gledof but in todays climate who wants a flash car that looks good sitting outside your front door. Lets not get carried away, its a basic car but it does what it says on the tin. I cover 100 miles a day and it has never let me down and having looked at the cost of repairs, I dont think I will need to worry about dipping into my sons uni fund (ps that was spent on a new kitchen shhhh)

    Sure the new models look good so if you have a few quid then go buy one....or invest in a sports car that you cant afford to run insure but like a trophy girlfriend looks good on your arm

  • 1.4 TDCi Zetec Climate 5dr

    Benjamin Flatres Date: 24/08/2008
    • Overall verdict
      1 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      54

    My car

    I bought this 56 plate car in november last year. The car was fine up until about a month ago i was driving along and all of a sudden the engine cut out the garage came and recovered the car they had it in the garage for 4 weeks and the problem was the engine timing belt and the pistons i finally got the car back 2 days ago i went out it in on the motorway and its the engine cut out in the outside lane luckily i could move over to the inside lane and then onto the hard shoulder so the car is back into the garage but the customer service has left a lot to be desired ... my advice DONT BUY ONE

  • 1.25 LX 3dr

    Liam Boyes , Aberdeenshire . Date: 21/08/2008
    • Overall verdict
      3 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I owned this car for two and a half years and it proved to be a decent car for someone of my age and gender (male, under 21) due to the fact the maintenance and fuel costs are so reasonable and, of course, the car has a low insurance group.

    The handling was great for driving around town and on B-roads, however I would say there was a lack of shove when on A-roads or motorways.

    I only had one mechanical problem with the car, when I bought it (it was one year old) the water pump had failed, however this was replaced under warranty. The other main problem I had was with the radio, every time I pressed the accelerator the sound would fade from the speakers and all I could hear was a buzzing sound.

    All in all, a reasonable car. If you are a young driver and need a cheap run around, go for it.

  • 1.25 16v Style 3dr

    Dominic Tomalin , Northamptonshire . Date: 16/08/2008
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      50

    My car

    we bought this car in December 2007 to replace out tired and cheap Daewoo Matiz and to no surprise the fiesta is a much better car all round we have 1.25 which is nippy enough bit does sound slightly raucous at higher revs and does struggle for hill starts but overall you cant complain, i do much prefer the exterior look of the mk v since 2005 when it was tweaked and the interior has been given higher quality materials but despite this its still a very dull and drab place to be with functional and sturdy plastics chosen over design. practicality wise theres no complaints you get a good commanding view of the road and a very comfortable driving position with good rear seat space and a decent size boot. you also get a very crisp, swift change from the 5 speed manual gear box.

    Drive wise it holds the road beatifly and corners with ease with weighty and precise stearing with decent feed back to, however i find there is quite a bit of body lean in the corners and low speed ride can be a bit uncomfortable,

    mechanical wise no complaints even though the car is less than a year old but i have no doubt that the ford will keep going

Ford Fiesta Hatchback

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2015