We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    3 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
58 reader reviews for Hyundai Getz Hatchback.
  • 1.1 CDX 5dr

    Steven Wright , Cheshire . Date: 30/12/2007
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I have had all the big toys over the years i.e. Jaguars, Granadas, Scorpios, Carltons etc. Decided that there was no point in having two "big" cars and opted to have one car which was economy minded.

    After loads of research I decided to opt for a Hyundai Getz CDXi 1.1. Got an 06 plated, delivery mileage for the ridiculous price of £5,700.

    I have now had the car for just over 12 months and it has been absolutely great. Superb economy (50+mpg), ultra reliable and has all of the toys you might reasonably need.

    Brilliant car for around the town and my wife prefers to drive it rather than her own (always manages to leave the petrol gauge on empty however!)

    Very competent on the motorway although obviously not the quickest or best for overtaking, especially with children and two adult in the vehicle.

    Cracking little motor and I would recommend to anyone looking for a vehicle which delivers economy, reliability and specification.

    I decided against having the car serviced where it was purchased and instead went to Ryders in Warrington. I never thought I would place the words "fantastic" and "main dealer" in the same sentence, but in this instance I have actually come across a dealership were they were polite, accommodating, efficient and actually smiled whilst dealing with you.

    Brilliant car and brilliant back up from main dealers.

  • 1.6 Sport 3dr

    james white , oxfordshire . Date: 24/12/2007
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I own a hynundia getz 1.6 sport i find this car a bit heavy on petrol i.e mpg also a bit flat on performance is this standard for getz models 1.6... its 2004 model 2300 miles on clock ...car in mint condition........i bought the car 6 months ago.....i thought i would get better mpg than i do........i do not get 40 mpg about 36 i think as near as possible perhaps the car needs a engine tune all services done to book hyundia dealer.....

  • 1.3 GSI 5dr

    alan henderson , renfrewshire . Date: 28/11/2007
    • Overall verdict
      3 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars

    My car

    Not a bad car for the money and seems to be very reliable so far. I have owned it from new, purchased in May 2005. I have stuck with main dealer servicing so far(just had 30k service) and this has been fairly reasonable. I have not had to replace anything major yet other than wiper blades and a couple of sidelight bulbs. There are a few rattles appearing from within the cabin, but it is so far fairly robust. Nice to drive, but my only complaint, and I'm not alone is the fuel consumption. In town the car struggles to achieve 40mpg giving anything from 35-40 and thats driving it gently. The best I've ever had was 44mpg but this was driving it at the speed limits40,50,60. Not impressed at all with that hence only 3 stars. Took it back initially to dealer who checked engine management,brakes, cat etc and reported that it was fine. Hyundai sent me the bog standard blurb about real world driving conditions and lab conditions.Why bother putting the lab conditions in the brochure then? Perhaps thats what you get when you stick and old tech engine, presumably from the accent in a more modern car. Can't trade it in now as its halved in value. To sum up great little reliable car marred by poor fuel returns.

  • 1.1 GSI 3dr

    Muraidi Mustaffa , Kent . Date: 20/11/2007
    • Overall verdict
      3 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I have owned an 03 reg 1.1 GSI Getz (pre-facelifted) since October 2006 which I bought used at 21,000 miles on the clock, that means a little over a year ago. Yes the 1.1 engine is very underpowered, but I have really got used to it. The fuel consumption is not that brilliant, I work as a careworker; doing about 200 miles a week so I think the fuel consumption could have been a bit better. I find the driving position is fairly comfortable and feel very safe because of the higher driver seat. I have not had any major problems with my Getz apart from the fuel/oxygen sensors that were changed about 6/7 months ago. This happened because of the petrol I bought at Morrisons! Servicing costs are relatively cheap. So far I have managed to clock up to 44,000 miles (and it is still under the 5 year warranty) on my little Getz. I will still keep it as long as the car is still going. But everything taken into account, I have to say I would not buy another Hyundai. From my driving experience in my Getz- bodyroll, underpowered engine, plasticky dash, rear high visibility light sticking on the right side of bumper and many more little annoying bits just enough to turn me off. I mean look at Hyundai i30, what on earth were the engineers thinking- i30 is just so ugly and undesirable, even the sister Kia Ce'ed is much better looking than the i30! My next car would be a diesel or if I still want a petrol car I would go for a Corsa VXR or a Suzuki Swift Sport, so much better looking!

Hyundai Getz Hatchback

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014