We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    3 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
6 reader reviews for Mazda Premacy MPV.
  • 2.0 Di GXi 5dr

    Norman Tooke Date: 27/12/2007
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I purchased my 03 plate Premacy 2.0L Diesel in May 2004, ex demo with 5k miles on the clock. Even though my previous 2 cars were good (Mitsubishi Spacerunners) the Premacy is better, in every way; handling, running costs and dealer servicing costs. I average around 20-22k miles per year, mpg is between 48-54 depending on type of journey and use of Aircon. Currently covered 66K miles and no faults, first set of tyres replaced at 40K, second set are Bridgestones better grip than the originals but they probably won't do 40K. First set of front brake pads were replaced at 63K, best I've ever done previously was 45K. Metallic paintwork is lasting well, stone-chips can't be avoided but after touching up none are rusting. No oil leaks, no oil used between services. After a tyre depot messed up the tracking I had the Mazda dealer do a 4 wheel tracking, handling was improved and the trye wear is very uniform.

  • 1.8 GSi 5dr

    paul bridges , north lanarkshire . Date: 18/07/2007
    • Overall verdict
      3 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I bought the Premacy in April 2006. It's an 03 plate and had 22,000 miles on the clock with a full dealer service history. It was good value for the £6k price tag. I have had a few problems with the car.

    After about six months ownership I discovered rust blisters on the offside rear wing. As the car had a six-year bodywork warranty I took it to my local Mazda dealer for an inspection. After about five months I got the go-ahead and the repair was done under warranty - well done Mazda.

    Dealer service costs are steep and my local dealer tried in vain to get me to have work done that was not needed (tyres and brakes). Tyre wear is still uneven on the offside front even after wheel alignment.

    I have the 1.8ltr and average about 35mpg which is not bad. I have had 48mpg on a long run. The dull cabin can be a bit creaky at times but it is immensely practical and hard wearing. I have now done 42k miles andoverall its a comfortable, reliable car with loads of room for the family.

    But watch out for unscrupilous dealers!

  • 1.8 GSi 5dr

    richard wannell , gloucestershire . Date: 15/07/2007
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I brought my Premacy 1.8 GSi just before the birth of our first child. It was used but only had around 9000 miles on a 1999 registration.

    It has been a very reliable family car for the last seven years, having clocked up approx 65,000 miles. We did have to take it back for the fuel tank shield rivets to be sorted early into ownership but was done quickly and efficiently by Mazda.

    Economy is good - it returns around 33mpg and I have just had the catalytic converter done on the exhaust. I would definately look at Mazda or eastern build again.

    It's a great car for the family with a reliable badge - it's not a looker inside but has been a workhorse for me on a daily basis with a young family and all the gear that goes with us(prams etc) and camping holidays.

  • 2.0 GSi 5dr

    Mike Callaghan , Durham . Date: 20/04/2007
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I purchased my Mazda as a pre-registered car with delivery miles in March 2005, the car having been registered in June 2004. With the new Mazda Five due to be released, the Premacy had been heavily discounted.

    The premacy is very comfortable and long journeys are not a problem, with plenty of space for three rear passengers. As an MPV it rates very well with the rear seats removed, which only takes a few minutes, and there is plenty of space.

    I am getting 32.5mpg and find the car responsive with the 2.0-litre engine giving me plenty of power for motorway driving. The level of equipment is reasonable although the plastics are a bit bland like most Japanese cars.

    I returned the car to the dealer at 9000 miles for a clunking noise when braking; this has returned again at 23,000 miles. Overall, I am pleased with the Premacy - the build quality and practicality are very good and I would certainly consider another Mazda when I come to change.

Mazda Premacy MPV

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014