We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    4 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
54 reader reviews for Nissan Pathfinder 4x4.
  • 2.5 dCi 190 Acenta 5dr

    tim boles , isle of man . Date: 29/05/2014
    • Overall verdict
      3 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      33

    My car

    This is a no nonsense load lugger- with excellent fuel economy for a vehicle this size with fantastic amount of room for stuff- we bought an ex Demo 2010 Pathfinder nearly new and have done 70,000 miles in under 4 years in it usually loaded to the roof with 2xdogs 1xcat 2 x children all kinds of garden stuff, furniture and a full roofbox.Manages 34 mpg without roofbox and 31 mpg with. swallows long distances on M Ways with ease.

    Only problems: The tailgate does NOT open tall enough- I keep hitting my head In traffic the car surges rather than creeps along Engine is gruff and thumpy at slow speeds Obviously it is Not a sportscar- (I have several of those) but it tows my racecar without a murmour (at 27 mpg. Offroad it is OK although the tow bar is set quite low and in 4WD High on steering lock it sometimes crabs

    All in all a simple and tough and unpretentious loyal friend.

  • 2.5 dCi Acenta 5dr

    james barrett , cornwall . Date: 11/03/2013
    • Overall verdict
      3 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      24

    My car

    Lovely car to drive looks nice, on paper the perfect 4x4. I bought mine in june 2012 it is a 2008 adventura and had 28k on the the clock. It is a solid well built car that does what it says on the tin ( typical nissan). Now for the bad points . The 2.5 engine is a little under powered if you do much towing and is very thirsty at an average of 24mpg. On a run a have a max of 26 mpg. At 30 k the clutch went (luckily under warentee) The car sits in between camps, It has to much in the way of electrical toys to go wrong to be a hard core work horse yet not enough refinement to be luxury. Mine is going after 10 months and 15k miles. Running costs are to high even by 4x4 standards . That said i have enjoyed it and reading other reviews would consider a new one which appears to have the fuel enconomy sorted better.

  • 2.5 dCi Tekna 5dr

    Huw Evans , Ceredigion . Date: 29/01/2013
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars

    My car

    True to my word I bought a second Pathfinder when I came to buying a new car. The cars are identical (apart from colour - that would be strange). MPG is still pityful at about 24-25, tax is still high. Just ahd my 2nd service with Nissan (38k miles). car needed brake pads also and the bill came to £560. Now feels like a new car again though! Other than that I think this is stilll the best family 4x4 out there. Discoveries are still too expensive and unreliable - even a mechanic from Land Rover told me not to buy one. The Pathfinder proved itself once again during our recent snowfall. It was totally reliable and went up and down icy hills like a mountain goat - I will always own a 4x4. When it comes to changing this one, unless there's something very special on the market, I will buy my 3rd Pathfinder. On a personal note, how the hell does What Car only give this car 2 stars?

  • 2.5 dCi S 5st 5dr

    David Stevenson , . Date: 01/11/2011
    • Overall verdict
      1 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      25

    My car

    Bought in December 2008 with only 16,000 miles on the clock,registered July 2007 and now on 1st November 2011 it has only done 39,000 and I regret the day I set eyes on it. Air conditionin went fauly, rear door repainted twice, roof repainted once, on six occasions the engine has died when hiting the kickdown while pulling out to overtake (dangerous and scary), kick strip at drivers door fell off, driver's seat recovered twice, driver's seat fully reclining randomly while driving or stationary, memory positioning of drivers seat packed in and VOX for phone operation faulty and now it is on a recall from Nissan and apparently it maybe in for up to a week, fortunately I've been given a Navara as a courtesy vehicle. When my two year extended warranty expires in July 2012 this machine is history. Haven't yet decided what to replace it with, certainly not a Disco, I've already had that experience!

Nissan Pathfinder 4x4

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014