We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    4 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
110 reader reviews for Skoda Octavia Hatchback.
  • 2.0 TFSI vRS 5dr

    Doug Rielly , Cumbria . Date: 16/08/2008
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I decided on the Octavia VRS as my new company car in July 2006. It has so far clocked-up 76,000 miles and still drives as though it has just left the showroom.

    On average, I tend to do about 200 (mostly motorway) miles per day, Monday through to Friday and the Octavia has so far never had a breakdown, nor has it developed any of those annoying little niggles/rattles that you so often find yourself resigned to living with until the time comes to change the car.

    The dealership have been far better than some of the previous manufacturers I've dealt with. When the variable service interval has come around, I've always been supplied with a reasonably spec'd Octavia (with a good half tank of fuel which is a rarity these days) and the VRS has been returned waxed and polished and vacuumed internally.

    Benefit in kind for company car drivers is a little on the high side but that is really the only compromise I feel I've made by selecting my Octavia.

    I think that when July 2009 comes around and it's time to change the car, the only thing that I'll alter will be the colour just so the neighbours know that it's a newer model!!

  • 1.6 FSI Laurin and Klement 5dr

    Ronald Fitzpatrick Date: 07/08/2008
    • Overall verdict
      3 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      37

    My car

    I bought my first Skoda Oct 2005 after 4- BMW & an X Type Jag. I was very impressed with all aspects of the car. It is roomy, high build quality, comfortable seats and with excellent driving dynamics. If I have a criticsm the ride can be firm. However 6 weeks ago after 12000m, it started to misfire.The Dealer changed a coil but it did not cure it.All the diagnostc tests confirmed a fault with one cyl but could not identify the reason. Eventually Skoda UK decided to change the engine ECU.This did not cure the fault so somewhat against my judgement decided to remove the cyl.head!to check for a sticking valve. Whilst it was apparent that something was wrong with no2 cyl the dealer and service engineer could still not decide on the cause. At this point, seeing the state of the engine stripped to the block & with the head in pieces I decided that I was not prepared to accept a rebuild and agreed to partX for a Sept reg Fabia3 1.6tipt So whilst I am not a totally "Happy Skoda Diver" but accept I must be one of the very few unlucky owners. I still think it is a fine car.If anyone has any idea as to the cause I would like to know but I remain convinced it is due to some abnormality with the engine managment system which has not been identified.The dealer has been very helpful & provided a loan car since the problem started.

  • 2.0 TFSI vRS 5dr

    Mark Craddock , West Midlands . Date: 04/08/2008
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      37.5

    My car

    I've had my Octavia II Vrs for nearly a couple of years now, and clocked up 40,000 miles. I agree with everything said here, that in terms of practicality, performace and economy mix, its difficult to beat.

    I loved this car from the moment I test drove it. It really makes you feel part of the drive, and totally in control.

    Someone commented in the review that roadholding was poor and understeer a problem. I don't agree - mine feels totally planted to the tarmac - wet or dry. That said, I did have a problem a year ago where things didn't quite feel right - cornering not tight, slightly wondering at high speed..etc. It turned out to the 4 wheel alignment being slightly out (done on a Hunter system). This made a HUGE difference to the drive.

    Honestly wouldnt give it up for anything else....just excellent!

  • 2.0 TDI PD Ambiente 5dr

    Jeremy Lloyd Date: 01/08/2008
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      55

    My car

    Coming up to a year and some 12K miles and I've nothing but praise for it. It's great to drive, immensely practical and so economic. Averaging mid-50 mpg on a mix of roads and variously carrying family, luggage, furniture, bikes etc.

    Even though its the hatchback version, it really swallows everything I throw at it, with the boot an excellent size for family holidays with five in the car. My previous vehicle - BMW X3 - was more constrained and I found the extra space in the Skoda very worthwhile. Furthermore, although both cars are 2.0Ds, the Skoda has much more kick and is easier to drive in traffic.

    The car has the sports suspension, 17" alloys, discrete spoiler and replacement tail-pipes and I think it looks the business in black; not overtly flashy but with a sporty edge.

Skoda Octavia Hatchback

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2015