We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 3 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    3 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
21 reader reviews for Vauxhall Astra Convertible.
  • 1.8i 16v 2dr

    Stuart Edwards , East Sussex . Date: 28/12/2005
    • Overall verdict
      2 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      2 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I bought this car new in June 2002 in Dec 2005 and have done a mileage of 67,000. It handles well and enjoys being thrown around bends. However, it is painfully slow for a 1.8i, but maybe that's understandable given the extra strengthening which stops most of the body flex.

    The hood is made of excellent quality mohair. Inside, the lining is dark grey, so it doesn't get dirty like many convertibles. A heated glass rear screen is better than the cheaper plastic ones, and doesn't get scratched. The remote locking will only work next to car.

    The bodywork looks good for 67,000 motorway miles - the front is peppered with stone chips but none have rusted thanks to the zinc galvanised body. The interior is well built. However, the stereo is rubbish, and I cannot use medium wave due to interference.

    Seat comfort is awful - the lumbar support is too large, even on the lowest setting. Headrests are too far away from your head to be of any use, and sun visors are dangerous as they are too small. At 5000 miles, it had a free modification to stop the brakes making a hideous noise when reversing.

    The water pump failed at 40,000 miles and nearly took the cambelt with it. Frosts Vauxhall took five days to fix it under warranty. At 60,000 miles, a rubber suspension mount was replaced under warranty.

    At 62,000 miles, the ECU controlling the ABS and traction Control failed just three months out of warranty, and Vauxhall paid just £160 out of the £1600 bill.

  • 2.2i 16v 2dr

    David Evans , East Sussex . Date: 23/12/2005
    • Overall verdict
      3 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I got this car from new (an Astra 2.2 convertible, inMay 2004) and had a number of faults. First, there is a rust patch in the boot on an exposed metal panel on the underside - you would need to turn your head upside down to see this. Also, you call feel the bumps in this car. The car was In the garage for a week to fix this.

    I checked five other convertibles, and they had the same fault - a rusty screw in the roof. The roof rattles and squeaks, too. The car has been in and out of the garage fixing various faults, but the roof still rattles even after 10 visits.

    The garage I brought this car from has the worst service department and customer service skills. However, the car handles and drives well. I would recommend checking your boot for this fault.

  • 1.8 16v Exclusiv 2dr

    Anthony Levy Date: 20/12/2005
    • Overall verdict
      1 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      2 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I purchased this car on the 5 November 2005 since then it has been returned to Vauxhall on 6 (SIX) occasions (in six weeks) becuase of a fault in the radio equipment.

    This car causes interference whenever you listen to the AM (Medium) wave band. Every piece of electrical equipment causes interference from the electric windows, mirrors, air con, to the change of noise through tghe radio speakers when cornering, braking, accelerating, or when using the indicators.

    Vauxhall do not know what is causing the problem, nor how to fix it, so it appears my car is the guinea pig. It has now spent more time in their garage than in mine.

    The unfortunate problem is this has totally deflected any possible honest assessment of the rest of the vehicle, it might well be a good car but only if you do not want to listen to the radio on the medium wave band (am I the only person in the United Kingdom who listens to radio 5), but who knows.

    This has so far been a big expensive mistake, as without being able to listen to my favourite programmes whilst driving all the enjoyment of actually owing a new car has never happend. This is unfortunate becuase undoubletly overall the car is a good model?.

    Due to all my problems I just want my BMW back

  • 1.6i 16v 2dr

    James Wigley , Kent . Date: 29/11/2005
    • Overall verdict
      1 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      1 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I've had this car for three years, and there has not been one month when it has not been back to Vauxhall for one of their 'state of the art' dignostics tests.

    I have been messed around by Vauxhall also. From day one, parts were falling off of the car. These include: side skirts, door sills, part of the exhaust, and a bolt from the driver's side sun visor (if that's what they call it, seeing as it is so small...).

    Each time it goes to be repaired they say nothing is wrong with it - they must be ignoring the constant, visible loss of oil. The car cuts out constantly, and once left me stranded on the motorway after cutting out while in the middle lane.

    If you do choose this beautiful looking car, go for a 1.8 or bigger engine size. This one simply doesn't have enough power to lug itself around. As for me, I'm trading my Astra in for a BMW X5!

Vauxhall Astra Convertible

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014