We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    3 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
124 reader reviews for Volkswagen Touran MPV.
  • 1.9 TDI 105 S 7st 5dr

    Mark Whitelegg Date: 24/09/2008
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      45

    My car

    Ywo years, 30k miles later and I am trading my Touran in for a Passat estate, not because there was anything wrong with it just I fancied a change from a box on wheels. However, I cannot fault the Touran at all excepting a couple of very minor warranty issues. MPG has been brilliant, the ride very good for an MPV and it's been incredibly practical. The only down side is that it is uninspiring to look at, but don't let that put you off. I am surprised to hear of the reliability issues others have experienced as both the car and my dealer have been excellent

  • 1.9 TDI 90 S 5st 5dr

    Roy Kirton Date: 23/09/2008
    • Overall verdict
      2 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars

    My car

    The Touran has been a very disapointing car to own, in that I have neve had a car with so many faults during the first 2 years of ownership, water leaks, oil leaks,wiper blades,the gearbox has also had to be replaced plus several other faults,and having done less than 12,000 miles I do not think this is acceptable The dealership has been less than sympathetic and at times insulting, I~ will never be buying a Volkswagen in from them again

  • 1.9 TDI 105 S 7st 5dr

    Ewa Croker , Cheshire . Date: 18/09/2008
    • Overall verdict
      2 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      2 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I have been an avid VW owner for the past 15 years with a succession of Golf's, Polo's and most recently a Touran purchased in 2005. 2 year servicing may seem a great idea but we experienced a succession of annoying problems during the warranty period which has been inconvenient. Then the big whammy just as the warranty period runs out. Our Touran had done 29,000 miles when the ABS pump needed replacing. "Oh dear" said our dealer; "nothing to do with us - just hand over £1,450 +VAT and that should sort the problem but no guarantee". So this is what we did. During the ABS pump replacement the power steering unit went. "Nothing to do with us" said the dealer "that will be another £1,250 +VAT". Pity we did not buy the car on a credit plan -- we've been told dealer attitude is very different in terms of good will. Suffice to say the Touran is being traded in for a non VW MPV!

  • 2.0 TDI 140 Sport 7st 5dr

    Michael Davies Date: 03/09/2008
    • Overall verdict
      1 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      38

    My car

    Own a 53 plate 138bhp TDi sport. Purchase when 7 months old in June 2004. Whilst it is a nice drive (my wife uses it most of the time) build quality & reliability are absolutely terrible. Here is the catalogue of problems:

    May 2005 - Two new front tyres - Mileage 10,086 September 2005 - Radio replaced under warranty October 2005 - New temp sender fitted & tested Feb 2006 - Two new front tyres - mileage 18,950 May 06 - Two new rear tyres - mileage 20,353 Nov 06 - Two new front tyres - Mileage 25,984 Nov 05 & Nov 07 - Full geometry check - 2nd time paid for by VW. April 07 - New Air intake flap unit - Mileage 29,272 (VW goodwill contribution) May 07 - Rear passenger foot well full of water. Vehicle had in fact been leaking since production (confirmed by Body shop manager). Full new interior fitted but VW still expected a contribution from me of £300. Nov 07 Cam belt fitted - now suffers from hunting / erratic idle on "warm up phase". Just had it serviced and dealership has no idea what the fault is. Up date 17/09/08 - new injector required no change out of £700. Seeking VW goodwill conribution in view of milage which at less than 38k this sort of fault shouldn't happen

    So much for buying an better quality brand, with the costs to date erroding any saving on potential for a higher re-sale value. Next time I'll stick to Vauxhalls - has 6 different cars from them and never had any problems like this.

    03/09/08

Volkswagen Touran MPV

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014