Mercedes C-Class (07 - 14) Owner reviews

No longer on sale

C200 petrol manual sport. I took delivery July 2014. When ordered in April 2014 no demonstrators had arrived, my mistake! I am disappointed with the car to the extent I will go back to Audi. Good points, it looks great, has a comfortable driving position and came well equipped. The LED lights are no more than ordinary but I opted for 'intelligent lights' these are awesome and well worth the cost if you drive at night regularly. Other options were metallic, proper leather seats & lumbar support. The leather was poor quality and goodness knows the age & health of the animal it came from. Dislikes - the ride even on decent B & C roads is diabolical, pitching & rolling even on a stiffer setting. Avoid side winds at all costs. The engine is noisy & coarse, the dipstick impossible to use. Wipers are not up to the job. The idea of using the foot break as a handbrake is hopeless, the 'hold' signal is hidden behind the wheel & my line of sight. The parking break is unlit and down by knee!! The design & quality of the interior is poor in comparison to Audi. Your elbow hits the cheap plastic door pole when reaching for the seatbelt. Accessing the simplest of commands is a journey in itself! The ceramic touch pad obstructs the more practical rotary dial. Owners instructions mostly available via screen in car. Takes up to 15 seconds to change page in a sweltering car in driveway, Mercedes charged me Β£17 for full book!!!! Not an enjoyable car to own. Get out with key in - knee hits it!

Stewart William Taylor, Suffolk, February 25th 2015

0 SE 4dr

  • Overall verdict2/5
  • What it's like to drive2/5
  • Running costs3/5
  • Quality2/5
  • Average MPG44 mpg

Had this car for a month (3,000 miles) now and it has performed well over a mix of motorway, town, country roads and even farm tracks. It represents a big step forward from the previous W204 model for both the design and handling. The engine remains the same grumbling unit as in the previous model but the weight savings have helped bring the 0-60 time down to 6.6 seconds (not 7.5 as reported here). The car also feels more agile and has better fuel efficiency to boot. The reversing camera is clear and helps when negotiating tighter spaces than you'd normally attempt so it isn't just a gimmick to help differentiate from the crowd. As mentioned in a previous review the graphics on the sat nav are a little cartoon like but it's clear and easy to use. There is an option to have the information displayed between the dials which allows both media / radio and the nav elements to be displayed and means audio prompts aren't required. Overall it's a better machine than the A6 I stepped out of and a vast improvement over the previous model C Class but it could do with a touch more refinement in the engine damping and the wind noise at motorway speeds. Good car though and can't see too many grumbles ahead for me in my three years of ownership.

Jon Whitworth, January 1st 2015

0 BlueTEC Sport 4dr Auto

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs3/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG52 mpg

Had my C220 Sport Premium plus for 1 month now from new, and for me it is the best car I have ever owned. I should qualify that by stating the majority of my previous vehicles were fords, the only previous car that came close was an Audi A4. I had planned to buy another nearly new A4 , Mercedes weren’t even on my radar, I always considered them to be for old men in grey suits. But I happened to pass by our local dealership looking at the old C-Class’s on the forecourt then noticed the new style C-Class. What a complete transformation, I booked a test drive and 4 months later I have my own brand new c-class, breaking two rules I had previously held of never buying brand new or buying Mercedes. The whole persona of this car just smacks of quality, comfort and attention to detail throughout. Outside it looks very smart and classy, the myriad of LED lights inside and out are something to behold at night. There is so much equipment included and the on-board tech is in a completely different league to anything I have seen previously. The drive is comfortable it feels solidly attached to the road surface, there is hardly any road or wind noise from outside the agility select adds to the fun. The 2.1 litre diesel engine can sound a bit noisy at times and the layout of the central console controls could be better but these niggles do not spoil the overall experience. Getting this car has made the daily commute to work one of the highlights of my day, and I have never said that before

Gerald Hayden, Wiltshire, November 22nd 2014

0 SE 4dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG51 mpg

I have now had this car for 2 years, I bought it with 90k on the clock and it now has just turned 150k. I am so pleased I bought this car it has been an excellent vehicle and is the best car I have ever owned - this is my 25th car! So far it has never let me down, and everything is as tight as the day I got it. It is fast and cheap to run. I do almost all motorway miles and the over optimistic computer has told me over the last 30k miles I have averaged 57.2mpg (I know from working this out that I have actually averaged 51 mpg) 51 mpg from a 2.7litre vehicle is amazing - and is over the manufacturers stated figure! Everything works on it still - the stereo (standard) is of excellent quality, I can drive for 6 hours without getting tired It has a good level of equipment - although when I drive my parents C320 CDi I am jealous of the parking sensors, iPad connector, Bluetooth and satnav. So far in 60k miles it has gone through 2 sets of rear tyres and one set of front tyres plus services. At the last service I had a strange rattle coming from the exhaust which was a loose clamp and it is now due for suspension drop links on the front (minor) I would recommend this car to anyone doing lots of motorway work. Yes the manual with the foot handbrake is not ideal - and probably given the choice I would have the auto - having said that at 150k I think I'm safer with the manual. Next car will be another Mercedes - probably an E Class

Edward Beech, Gloucester, October 16th 2014

0 CDI Avantgarde SE 4dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG41.5 mpg

Like the road testers I found the diesel a bit rough, and the Sport model has suspension that is too hard for urban use. I bought a petrol model as they are much quieter, cheaper to buy and service, and still give 40+mpg on a run. But unlike the road testers, I find the car incredibly quiet at speed (I don't know how anyone could find it noisy). I have owned scores of cars and this is easily the best built, best thought out car I have ever had. Standard equipment is comprehensive and useful - such as front and rear parking sensors, cruise control and bluetooth - and it is beautifully balanced to drive on real-world roads. Downsides include there not being much legroom in the back, and the fact that SE models are now fitted with plastic seats (how do Mercedes get away with that?), but thankfully mine has cloth trim. Early depreciation make a six month old C-class a bargain for the quality and equipment.

Mark Osland, Surrey, July 28th 2014

0 CGI BlueEFFICIENCY SE 4dr Auto

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG30 mpg

Had my Mercedes C220 AMG Sport Auto for 12 months now on a Personal Contract Hire. Overall I am very happy and I agree that Journalist reviews of the C Class don't match my views of the car. It is refined, comfortable to drive and on the outside and inside it oozes quality. I have done 20,000 miles in it so far and average 49.5 miles per gallon which is the only gripe as the combined MPG quoted by Mercedes is impossible to achieve. Even driving on motorways at a sedate 60pmh I can only get high 50's per gallon and normal motorway driving is generally around 53MPG. That said everything thing else is superb. I purchased the Becker Sat Nav online from a German seller on eBay for Β£300 and this works a treat as a fully integrated Sat Nav. the interior is very comfortable, I will admit the rear passenger leg and head room is a bit on the tight side and not being able to fold the rear seats is rather strange! I managed to find a Mercedes specialist independent garage that did the first service for 1/2 the cost a main dealer charges including registering the services on Mercedes website. All thing consider I am very pleased and having owned a BMW 5 series in the past I would rate the C Class in the same league and possibly better.

Dominic Issartel, Notts, February 23rd 2014

0 CDI BlueEFFICIENCY AMG Sport 4dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG49.5 mpg

Had my Mercedes C220 AMG Sport Auto for 12 months now on a Personal Contract Hire. Overall I am very happy and I agree that Journalist reviews of the C Class don't match my views of the car. It is refined, comfortable to drive and on the outside and inside it oozes quality. I have done 20,000 miles in it so far and average 49.5 miles per gallon which is the only gripe as the combined MPG quoted by Mercedes is impossible to achieve. Even driving on motorways at a sedate 60pmh I can only get high 50's per gallon and normal motorway driving is generally around 53MPG. That said everything thing else is superb. I purchased the Becker Sat Nav online from a German seller on eBay for Β£300 and this works a treat as a fully integrated Sat Nav. the interior is very comfortable, I will admit the rear passenger leg and head room is a bit on the tight side and not being able to fold the rear seats is rather strange! I managed to find a Mercedes specialist independent garage that did the first service for 1/2 the cost a main dealer charges including registering the services on Mercedes website. All thing consider I am very pleased and having owned a BMW 5 series in the past I would rate the C Class in the same league and possibly better.

Dominic Issartel, Notts, February 23rd 2014

0 CDI AMG Sport 4dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG49.5 mpg

I had one of the first face lift C class 220 cdi AMG Mercedes delivered to me in April 2011. In white it looked and still looks stunning. Unfortunately there the love affair ends. Whilst I love a car that looks the part, I cover 25,000 miles a year and few of them on the motorway. I need a car that performs well, is comfortable and reliable. One of the reasons I chose the Mercedes. I have owned C class Mercedes before, but the drop off in quality here is noticeable and it was not long before I was questioning my decision over the BMW I had turned down. Initially I was very pleased with the level of equipment, the adaptive xenon headlights are fantastic! However when pulling up to traffic lights with anything less than a full tank of fuel, you can hear it sloshing around once stopped. When driving you can hear the noise of the cooling fans when they come on. Having covered nearly 80,000 miles, I am changing the car in a few months. I am currently on my third auto gearbox, my third water pump and my low coolant light still comes on first thing in the morning. My second drivers seat as the material split. My second drivers door card, which as also dimpled up from resting my arm on it as quickly as the one that it replaced. The Becker SatNav is frustratingly slow. You can be nearly to the end of a slip road off a motorway before it advises you need to be in the right lane at the round about. For a brand and marque that sells on reputation and value, I feel short changed here

Eddie Ireland, Essex, February 19th 2014

0 CDI BlueEFFICIENCY AMG Sport Plus 4dr

  • Overall verdict2/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs3/5
  • Quality3/5
  • Average MPG38 mpg

I had one of the first face lift C class 220 cdi AMG Mercedes delivered to me in April 2011. In white it looked and still looks stunning. Unfortunately there the love affair ends. Whilst I love a car that looks the part, I cover 25,000 miles a year and few of them on the motorway. I need a car that performs well, is comfortable and reliable. One of the reasons I chose the Mercedes. I have owned C class Mercedes before, but the drop off in quality here is noticeable and it was not long before I was questioning my decision over the BMW I had turned down. Initially I was very pleased with the level of equipment, the adaptive xenon headlights are fantastic! However when pulling up to traffic lights with anything less than a full tank of fuel, you can hear it sloshing around once stopped. When driving you can hear the noise of the cooling fans when they come on. Having covered nearly 80,000 miles, I am changing the car in a few months. I am currently on my third auto gearbox, my third water pump and my low coolant light still comes on first thing in the morning. My second drivers seat as the material split. My second drivers door card, which as also dimpled up from resting my arm on it as quickly as the one that it replaced. The Becker SatNav is frustratingly slow. You can be nearly to the end of a slip road off a motorway before it advises you need to be in the right lane at the round about. For a brand and marque that sells on reputation and value, I feel short changed here

Eddie Ireland, Essex, February 19th 2014

0 CDI AMG Sport Edition 4dr

  • Overall verdict2/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs3/5
  • Quality3/5
  • Average MPG38 mpg

I had one of the first face lift C class 220 cdi AMG Mercedes delivered to me in April 2011. In white it looked and still looks stunning. Unfortunately there the love affair ends. Whilst I love a car that looks the part, I cover 25,000 miles a year and few of them on the motorway. I need a car that performs well, is comfortable and reliable. One of the reasons I chose the Mercedes. I have owned C class Mercedes before, but the drop off in quality here is noticeable and it was not long before I was questioning my decision over the BMW I had turned down. Initially I was very pleased with the level of equipment, the adaptive xenon headlights are fantastic! However when pulling up to traffic lights with anything less than a full tank of fuel, you can hear it sloshing around once stopped. When driving you can hear the noise of the cooling fans when they come on. Having covered nearly 80,000 miles, I am changing the car in a few months. I am currently on my third auto gearbox, my third water pump and my low coolant light still comes on first thing in the morning. My second drivers seat as the material split. My second drivers door card, which as also dimpled up from resting my arm on it as quickly as the one that it replaced. The Becker SatNav is frustratingly slow. You can be nearly to the end of a slip road off a motorway before it advises you need to be in the right lane at the round about. For a brand and marque that sells on reputation and value, I feel short changed here

Eddie Ireland, Essex, February 19th 2014

0 CDI AMG Sport Plus 4dr

  • Overall verdict2/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs3/5
  • Quality3/5
  • Average MPG38 mpg

Great car. It'll ask you to eat the rear tyres because its so much fun, but you can get 50mpg when you're on a normal run. Plug in the Becker module for Β£200 and you have integrated satnav. Good value, good finish. Needs DAB to make the standard equipment in line with its competitors.

Allen Collen, September 1st 2013

0 CDI BlueEFFICIENCY Sport 4dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG40 mpg

Sorry guys but your review of the C-class is not all accurate in my opinion. Having owned a 3 series as well as an Audi A4 I can say the Merc is leaps ahead in terms of refinement of the Diesel engine. Interior, again in my opinion, has the Merc ahead although the Audi is very close. On the road I prefer the softness of my Elegance option and it simply flattens bumps. Having owned many many cars I am totally sold on Mercedes and don't think I'll ever change brands.

Andrew Van der Nest, South Africa, July 12th 2013

0 CDI BlueEFFICIENCY SE 4dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG52 mpg

I also have to disagree with the rather pessimistic review of the C class Estate. They must have been given a Friday afternoon car! I live up in the mountains during the winter ski season. Had the option of a 4matic Estate version, (only LHD), with 6 cylinder diesel. (C300CDi 4Matic).Gives truly exceptional traction with snow tyres in winter and heavy rain on motorways on summer tyres is effortless and surefooted. Superb all rounder, great drivers aides, lane assist, distronic cruise and blind spot assist immensely useful on 1,000km plus runs. 150miles an hour car, with sub 7 second 0-60 yet 40plus mpg at 130kph on motorways. Lovely interior and in my opinion really good looking exterior compared to the 'audis all the sames' and BMW's. I have the sport but with standard suspension and 17inch wheels, so ride very smooth and compliant. My only real criticism...and its a big disappointment, are the front seats which are too hard and angled in such a way that they tend to crush the lower vertebrae of both myself and my wife on long journeys. Leaning the back rest back helps, but hardly ideal. Major cock up by Mercedes to save a few quid for the bean counters and would put me off buying another Mercedes to be honest, which is a shame as a came from the S class and previously owned four other Mercedes. Expensive car, but you get what you pay for,(apart from the seats where a Fiat 500 is vastly superior in this respect!). Good dealer service too which I never had with BMW

nicholas joseph, March 4th 2013

0 BlueEFFICIENCY Sport 4dr Auto

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

In some way I understand What Car the dark interiors are a tad bland. I have sahara beige interior which lifts the the inside hugely. The 220 diesel which I have is no rougher than many VW or even BMW Ive had, if the reviewer was a petrolhead then yes its rough and noisy I guess. I have the auto which is great and the one to get, had a few sensor issues but I love the car, I like a boot as opposed to a hatchback, yes the car is pricey with all its additions but I like the shape, the drive and everything about it as indeed do many other owners which contradicts the What Car review somewhat. Its MPG for your info is just about the same as my Wifes Honda Jazz 1.4 petrol, on the motorway I would say better. As I fill her car I see the Jazz mpg regularly

John Smith, Bucks, January 22nd 2013

0 CDI BlueEFFICIENCY Elegance 4dr

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs3/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG42 mpg

I'm writing this review as I honestly do not recognise the car that What Car have reviewed as the car I've purchased. I test drove the C Class 180CGI Blue Efficiancy model and was stunned by it's refinement and drive. True the 3 Series is a great car, but this is more refined - I've driven both. I was suprised at the driveability of the engine, with decent tourque across the range, and very lively in sport mode. The interior feels more upmarket than the 2 series too. I opted for the petrol given the price differential between this and deisel and am finding the car extemely economical with 42.8 average over 3000 miles. its probably slightly too early to judge running cost apart from the dirt cheap insurance and the (In my view) decent fuel consumption for a 1.9 litre petrol auto. I was that impressed I bought one.

George Alty, Wilts, January 6th 2013

0 BlueEFFICIENCY SE 4dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG42.8 mpg

I have a 2007 model with the V6 engine which has done 88.000km. It looks good, is very quiet and smooth with a great automatic that really complements the engine. Seating is OK, the boot is large, at least in relation to my previous BMW 320D, the extras really add to the car: beautifully designed sunroof with a sliding inner blind, parktronic, very effective xenon lights etc. A slight problem is the wind noise round the mirrors at motorway speeds, but they do give excellent visibility. A more serious problem was a worn balancer shaft sprocket (known problem) that involved taking the engine out and changing the shaft and sprocket + the chain and other pieces. Overall its a great car with a far classier feel than the BMW and I'm very pleased with it.

Mark Baraniecki, Alicante, April 7th 2012

0 Sport 4dr Auto

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG19 mpg

I've had my C250CDi for over two years and 43000 miles and remain absolutely delighted with the car. Its everything a 3 series isnt - stylish, comfortable and very well made. Sadly the British Press and What Car in particular always mark the C Class down. I have absolutely no idea why, although the cynic in me would say that the British motoring press enjoy far too comfortable a relationship with BMW that must impact on their judgement when testing cars

paul hampson, cumbria, December 1st 2011

0 BlueEFFICIENCY SE 4dr

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG40 mpg

I've had this car two weeks now replacing a BMW 320dSE. I had some concerns before i took delivery based on reviews that always favoured the 3-series with some particular comments about the Merc's "grumbly" engine. Well I'm delighted with the Merc, its actually very refined and quiet and so much better than the BMW in most ways that matter. It handles well, has a very comfortable ride, nice interior, and has simply stunning performance. Its just so relaxing and comfortable to drive. Negatives are foot operated parking brake and its not as economical as Mercedes would have you believe. Its beyond me how anyone could rate a 320d above a C250cdi. Its true that overall BMW use better quality interior plastics but unfortunatley thay use them in a way that creates zero ambience unless you like stark dark places.

Robert Storey, Berkshire, October 20th 2011

0 CDI BlueEFFICIENCY Elegance 4dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG44 mpg

My car has been the typical curate's egg - good in parts. It has been both a handsome, refined and comfortable car - yet required a Β£900 suspension rebuild for its first MOT (Β£600 was paid towards this by M-B). However, I write this review today after hearing that the timing chain has gone at 85 000 miles - with a full service history. My mechanic has told me that this is a common fault of the lower-tuned C180 engine, which has apparently a Mitsubishi base. Other engines are said to be reliable. Apart from these two rather critical faults, the graphics on the dash would embarrass a Casio watch and it has had a persistent rattle in the driver's door (from a loose door lock cable) I did really like this car until today, and was an M-B fan. Now, I cannot recommend this car, at least not in this model.

Alister McIlwee, Antrim, September 5th 2011

0 Classic 4dr

  • Overall verdict2/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs2/5
  • Quality2/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

Had my new 250 sport cdi 125 edition one week and although still in the honeymoon period the car is fantastic. Responsive,quick and yet refined. Motorway travel is like floating on air with a surge of power when required. Easy to use controls and there is a lot! Overall 5 star car.

Stuart reynolds, Notts, August 18th 2011

0 CDI BlueEFFICIENCY Sport 4dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG42 mpg