Crash damage: what is a Cat D car?

The Category D classification for crash-damaged cars has been replaced. Here’s what it, and the other old categories, mean and the precautions you should take...

Crashed Volvo S80

Until recently crash-damaged cars were put into four different categories: A, B, C and D. Below, we look at this system in detail.

Cat A

This type of car is the worst of the four. Vehicles in Cat A cannot even be used for salvage and should be crushed.

Cat B

These vehicles still have serious damage but they may be broken down for spare parts.

Cat C

These vehicles can be fixed, but the repairs alone will cost more than the car's market value, so it has been written off.

Crash-damaged cars: everything you need to know

Cat D

As with Cat C, Cat D cars can be fixed – but the repairs will cost less than its market value. However, the insurance company's decision to repair the vehicle is dependent on more than the cost of the repairs.

A Category D write-off can often be caused by moderate damage. The insurance company also has to take into account the cost of a courtesy car and inspection fees once the repairs have been completed. So it might decide that it doesn't make financial sense to repair the Cat D car.

If that's the case, the insurer can decide to sell the car to an independent garage, which then repairs the car for less money and is able to sell it on to the public.

Let's say you find one of these Cat D cars in the classifieds. Is it worth looking at or should you move on right away?

If you've done your homework, know what to look out for and what questions you need to ask, you can pick up a real bargain.

For all the latest reviews, advice and new car deals, sign up to the What Car? newsletter here

Save money on a new car with What Car? >>