Audi R8 Coupe Owner reviews

No longer on sale

FSI Quattro 2dr

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs3/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG15 mpg

Had the manual v8 now for about 3 months and it has so far been bulletproof. Had to change a back tyre which surprisingly only cost Β£290.00 fitted. When pushed over 3000 rpm it goes like a train. Cabin is well finished and rattle free and a pleasure to sit in. Really glad I went for the R8 instead of the 911 which although a great car are just too common. Engine is just amazing and sounds fantastic even trundling around the town. Only draw back is the thirst for fuel. Expect to get an average of around 15miles/gallon. Its not a lot but you will have a smile on your face for all those 15miles. Most surprising thing is how many people love the thing. Everywhere you go people stick the thumbs up and come over to talk about the car and have a look around. Im not a particularly wealthy man and saved up 3 years for this, but so far I have no complaints and am more than happy with my choice . I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone thinking of going for this type of car.

Richard Birkbeck, Cleveland, February 10th 2014

FSI Quattro 2dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

To readers of this R8 review - take no notice of Aaron Smith's and Tom Davies' comments - they are one and the same person and regularly contribute to rubbishing performance Audis, professing to think Mercedes for example, in his RS6 review, are the cars to buy. My assumption is Mr Smith/Davies MUST be retired (with plenty of time on his hands) because you would have to be to want a Merc. It's shame that there are people sad enough to waste other people's time who genuninely read these reviews for sound opinions and experiences... My brother recently purchased an R8 and I have had the good fortune to drive it on regular occasions; it is quite simply the best car I have ever driven. He had a Porsche 911 previously which was great, but nowhere near as special as the R8. That 4.2 V8 is really one of the best engines around.

Dominic Heaton-Ellis, December 19th 2008

FSI Quattro 2dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG17 mpg

I have owned the R8 for 7 months now and i have to say its the best car i have ever owned. The car has so much presence on the road, and im sorry but i have to disagree with the previous reviews, the audi is a much better looking car than a 911 and porsche are just so boring these days, and audi's interior is just unrivalled plus 911's are just too common on british roads..

scott black, November 7th 2008

FSI Quattro 2dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs3/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG18 mpg

I have just enjoyed 6 months ownership of this fabulous car. Every day I've had it on the road its been photographed, and not by speed cameras!! Its a manual and as a driving proposition it is with out equal, a new motoring icon. Its not cheap to run, but its easy to live with everyday. Performance is sensational and entirely useable. Magnetic ride is a worthwhile option but forget the fancy sound system,listen to that V8 instead, real music!! In these days of financial meltdown just looking at the R8 will soothe your soul and driving it will lift your spirit.

P.J. O' Connell, Dublin, October 27th 2008

FSI Quattro 2dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

Having owned it for 6 months with nearly 11k on the clock I can say that it is absolutely brilliant. Long journeys are very relaxing and you never feel jaded after a 300 mile trip People still ogle and smile. The car always gets postitive reaction from the public. 911 very nice but not as good as this car.

ian Rudge, July 16th 2008

FSI Quattro 2dr

  • Overall verdict1/5
  • What it's like to drive2/5
  • Running costs1/5
  • Quality1/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

Mr Walford, im afraid im going to side with Mr Davies of Hants. I dont uderstand the huge speculation about this car. It's and overprced boring Audi. A fast car for someone who doesn't really want a fast car, who doesnt exactly know what they want. Porsche 911 C2S : Β£64,000, 0-60 4.8 Audi r8 : Β£76,000, 0-60 4.6 A whole 0.2 seconds. Big deal. You are getting an Audi. Yawn. Save yourself a lot of extra cash, get the car with far greater prestige and avoid the boring Audi. It resembles the TT in far too many ways. Aha. You know what? If you want a resonably fast car, thats got an Audi mark of boredom, little excitement and cheap parts. Get a TT. Or go one better get a dustbin - its probably more usable and interesting.

Aaron Smith, hampshire, March 27th 2008

FSI Quattro 2dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

Mr Tom Davies of Hants. You really don't know what you're talking about! If you want an auto, then buy a GT car like a Jag or BMW M6, both with tiptronic auto. Agreed, the auto 'box is notchy and it doesn't suit the R8 for one main reason - the R8 is a driver's car, so you buy the manual version. In 'Fifth Gear' the R8 was up against the 997 4S and they stated the cars were equal, one round each and one draw. If you specify the 997 to the same standard specification as the R8, then the 997 is more expensive, so then you can't go on holiday? Overall it comes down to whether you wish to join the 911 camp or be the new boy on the block. A difficult one, I know, but my money is on the R8 - just wait till the V10 version comes out.

Julian Walford, February 4th 2008

FSI Quattro 2dr

  • Overall verdict1/5
  • What it's like to drive3/5
  • Running costs3/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

This would be a good car if only the 911 997 didnt exist. Because the 911 really has got this sussed. Anyone who watches 5th gear will have seen the 911 win the race against the R8. And the 911 is Β£5k cheaper, so you can go on a nice holiday as well. Another big prolem with the R8 is the aweful crunchy gearbox. And you don't get the same image as you get with the 911, because at the end of the days it's still only an Audi. Just go for the 911, it's way better

tom davies, hants, September 15th 2007

FSI Quattro 2dr

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

I have ordered an R8, for delivery in the next few months. I ordered the r-tronic box. I test drove the car today and was both amazed and dismayed. The car is absolutely beautiful and worth the premium pricing. As a competitor to a 997 it is far more exclusive. I was, however, shocked at the terible gearbox.It is almost impossible to drive it away smoothly without looking like you've just passed you test.I drove the cr for an hour and no matter how carful I was it was a real pain to use in traffic. This is sufficient to make me think about switching to a manual or back to a 997. Audi have got to address this fault in the car. If you are selling cars at Porsche prices you have to have a product which allows the buyer to enjoy the car and not get out of it without a strained neck.I assume it might simply be a recalibration of the gearbox software. why can't they use the succesful DSG box? I am not going to finalise my order until I've driven a manual version.Will someone at Audi listen?

michael gould, herts, August 29th 2007

Need a valuation?

Obtain a FREE used car valuation for any vehicle.

GB