BMW 4 Series Coupe

BMW 4 Series Coupe review

Manufacturer price from:£34,940
What Car? Target Price:£31,997
Search new deals
Review continues below...

Once upon a time, after the arrival of the BMW 3 Series saloon, a short time later it would be followed by the 3 Series Touring estate, then the coupé and, eventually, the convertible.

Now, though, things are different; the 4 Series is BMW’s answer to the Audi A5 and Mercedes-Benz C-Class Coupé, being a sleeker, sportier and more luxurious version of the 3 Series saloon. In other words, it's what we used to call the 3 Series Coupé.

The 4 Series has just two doors and features a wider rear end and sharper looks than its close relation. However, it's still pretty practical, comes relatively well equipped and drives very well, making it an excellent all-rounder.

But how does it measure up to its sporty rivals? Read on over the next few pages to get our in-depth impressions of the 4 Series, along with our recommendations for which of those trim and engine to choose.

And remember, once you've read our review, head to our deals page for the best 4 Series Coupé prices.

 

open the gallery4 Images
Engines
There are 12 engines available for the 4 Series coupe. Click to see details.See all versions
420i xDrive
We have not written anything about this yet...View engine
Fuel Petrol
GearboxManual, Semi-auto
0-62 MPH7.5 secs
MPG42.8-46.3
What Car? Target Price from
£31,997
Average Saving £2,944
View Engine
420i xDrive
We have not written anything about this yet...View engine
Fuel Petrol
GearboxSemi-auto, Manual
0-62 MPH7.3 secs
MPG42.8-46.3
What Car? Target Price from
£32,211
Average Saving £2,779
View Engine
420d [190] xDrive
We have not written anything about this yet...View engine
Fuel Diesel
GearboxManual, Semi-auto
0-62 MPH7.4 secs
MPG54.3-58.9
What Car? Target Price from
£32,713
Average Saving £3,042
View Engine
420d [190]
We have not written anything about this yet...View engine
Fuel Diesel
GearboxManual, Semi-auto
0-62 MPH7.2 secs
MPG54.3-60.1
What Car? Target Price from
£34,309
Average Saving £2,996
View Engine
430i
We have not written anything about this yet...View engine
Fuel Petrol
GearboxSemi-auto
0-62 MPH5.9 secs
MPG46.3-46.3
What Car? Target Price from
£37,663
Average Saving £3,517
View Engine
430i
We have not written anything about this yet...View engine
Fuel Petrol
GearboxSemi-auto
0-62 MPH5.8 secs
MPG46.3-46.3
What Car? Target Price from
£37,846
Average Saving £3,314
View Engine
430d xDrive
We have not written anything about this yet...View engine
Fuel Diesel
GearboxSemi-auto
0-62 MPH5.3 secs
MPG47.9-51.4
What Car? Target Price from
£40,761
Average Saving £3,784
View Engine
430d
We have not written anything about this yet...View engine
Fuel Diesel
GearboxSemi-auto
0-62 MPH5.2 secs
MPG47.9-51.4
What Car? Target Price from
£41,023
Average Saving £3,572
View Engine
440i
We have not written anything about this yet...View engine
Fuel Petrol
GearboxSemi-auto
0-62 MPH5 secs
MPG37.7-37.7
What Car? Target Price from
£43,569
Average Saving £3,801
View Engine
440i
We have not written anything about this yet...View engine
Fuel Petrol
GearboxSemi-auto
0-62 MPH5.1 secs
MPG37.7-37.7
What Car? Target Price from
£43,672
Average Saving £4,033
View Engine
435d xDrive
We have not written anything about this yet...View engine
Fuel Diesel
GearboxSemi-auto
0-62 MPH4.8 secs
MPG45.6-45.6
What Car? Target Price from
£45,671
Average Saving £4,225
View Engine
435d xDrive
We have not written anything about this yet...View engine
Fuel Diesel
GearboxSemi-auto
0-62 MPH4.7 secs
MPG45.6-45.6
What Car? Target Price from
£45,930
Average Saving £3,985
View Engine