i Vibe 3dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality3/5
  • Average MPG52 mpg

Just sold my wifes C1, owned it for 4 years and 22k miles. Never missed a beat and no faults (how many cars can that be said of?). Never less than 50mpg, all urban driving using super unleaded. Okay it's no sports car or luxury limo, buy it did exactly what we expected. Would we have another ? Well we replaced it with a Toyota Aygo, which is basically the same car, just had better spec.

mick shaw, December 8th 2012

i Vibe 3dr

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG60 mpg

Just bought this car, Gone from a VW Polo to this C1 and I am very impressed with this car, OK ...it may be a small engine but for 20 quid tax A YEAR !!! and a petrol gauge that does not even go down on long journeys what more can you ask for? for a little car with a little engine its an amazing car for its price and quality even speed, if you are a person that likes fast cars and zooms around like you think your the stig then dont buy it,if you are looking for a sporty looking car cheap to run and nippy buy the c1, personaly my polo was a 999cc and to go from that to the c1 is amazing , the C1 is nippy, lush steering, clever designs although a glove compartment would be ideal apart from that it sticks around the corners nippy taking off from start and 3rd gear is easy to achieve in 2nd ,if you cant , watch your speedomiter youl be suprised how quick it will achieve 30mph never mind achieving 60+ and it does 60+ easily and at 60mph+ its smoother than a ride on a cloud, if you get this car and you cant park it and also if you got a complaint about the c1 then you need to get a life....like I said cheap to run ,easy to drive and park and the best 998cc iv seen yet !!! BUY IT !!!! after all we are currently in a harsh with high prices and loadsa tax this car will save you LOADSA Money running it!!!.

Mark BRASS, RCT, April 27th 2011

i Vibe 3dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG50 mpg

I had the c1 for 2 years and it very basic car thats cheap to run and easy to drive and park in town its a small smart car. This car likes to rev and makes lots of noise like a supercar which makes it fun to drive. Best fun is over takeing bigger cars that thing they car is faster then is C1 they dont like it and get unset when they car that cost 2 time the price of this car can not over take you. When I first got this car it saved me from have a crash they was a log in the road I had to drive around it I was doing 60mph. Only bad points are that the number plat did fall off and I only get 50 mpg but I do drive fast as it more fun. Some one that drives like a woman would get 60 mpg Good Points: Fun to drive I would still have this car but my gf was driveing it and some woman who had a loads of friend in her car drived in to the side of the c1 and sent off the road in to tree. She is ok.

David Allison, January 25th 2009

i Vibe 5dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG65 mpg

Fantastic! Good things: reliable, frugal, chuckable, you can rev the hell out the engine.Does 80+ all day on motorways. Takes front/rear bangs by flexing not denting. More Mini than a Mini. Suggestions: Don't use Citroen dealers for servicing they charge less per hour than Toyota but then charge twice as many hours for the same identical service. Get one of those round battery LED lights you push the lens to turn on and velcro it in the boot on the seat back so you have a boot light and a handy torch you can remove when you fold the seats down. Also get a smal non slip rubber mat and put it on the little shelf on top of the stereo then you can put you phone/MP3/ipod there and play it through the aux socket without it flying off when you corner hard. Bad things: above 70 just turn the stero off because you won't hear it. Awfull cardboard rear parcel shelf that gets in the way when you unload. Boot is a shoebox. You cannot hang a bike carrier from the rear hatch because it's glass but I did buy a foldable citylite bike that fits in the boot. Not homologated for towing. Terrible rear 3 quarter blindspot (this put my daughter off getting one) due to wide c pillar. Only 2 seatbelts in rear. Faults in 2 years. Rear door seal leaked (replaced). First drivers door and then boot didn't unlock with key (all locks replaced).

Tony rodell, January 11th 2009

i Vibe 3dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality3/5
  • Average MPG57 mpg

I have owned the C1 for over a year now, I bought mine new. The reason I bought the car was because of the economy it offers. It has been a great car with no problems at all. It has plenty of power and I use mine on the motorway every day, (not just a city car) I drive from city to city, and it keeps up with the rest of the traffic no problem. What I would like to see is a passenger door light, when entering vehicle! Plus bigger sun visors, current ones don't do the job! Also a few more inches in the boot please. All in all it has been a great car to live with, and I would certainly buy another one.

jon Beeza, cheshire, November 23rd 2008

i Rhythm 3dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

This bug has a really distinctive character - very reminiscent of the original beetle. It's great fun to drive, noisy in a good way with a responsive firm ride. Mine's a country not a city bug - it's excellent on C roads. Economical, easy and above all fun!

Doug Stuart, East Sussex, November 8th 2008

i Rhythm 5dr

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality3/5
  • Average MPG50 mpg

Excellent town car, always able to park it in any gap. Running costs excellent. Only averaged 50mpg! Not to bad on the motorway over short 40 mile trips. Wouldn't want to do hundreds of miles in it, but it hasn't been designed for that. Glad we had the Rhythm model with the split seats as the boot isn't big enough to hold much shopping. Safety is excellent, as my son has recently had an accident in it. 4 people on board when it aquaplaned and went through a hedge backwards. All 4 walked away with no more than whip lash & minor cuts, but the car was a write off.

Dave Worlock, October 22nd 2008

i Vibe 3dr

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive3/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality2/5
  • Average MPG50 mpg

Bought the vibe new for under six grand as a second car to replace my beloved Smart. It beats the smart for practicality and has 4 seats and a spare wheel! The running costs are less and it has proved to be a terrific little city car. We refer to it as our moped with a roof and that is exactly what it is. It does not pretend to be anything else but does its job brilliantly. We intend to run it until it needs MOT's then buy another or whatever citroen may have in its place.

Richard Parkin, Nottingham, August 22nd 2008

HDi Rhythm 5dr

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive3/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG55 mpg

This is my wife's car. She decided on the highest spec with air con and parking detectors because, quite sensibly, she keeps her cars much longer than I do and will grind this one into the ground. Chiselling away the upfront cost to maximise residual value isn't really a priority if you're planning to keep a car its entire lifespan. I selfishly convinced her to go for the diesel because it was a) fun to drive and b) ludicrously cheap to tax and run. While the latter has quickly proven true, the C1 costing just Β£35 to tax (dropping to Β£20 next year) and delivering an average of 55mpg, with little more than Β£40 brimming the tank and taking the car hundreds of miles between return visits, the fun element has remained elusive. Problem is, the silly little tyres combined with an uncompromising, un-French-like ride (if you've ever driven a small Japanese car, you'll know who's to blame here - thanks, Toyota) and sheer weight of the diesel engine mean you simply cannot throw the thing around. For her style of driving it's fine and she loves its peppiness, just as on the test drive, but the moment you turn up the wick and attack corners it turns into a filing cabinet riding four wet bars of soap. If you're thinking of buying, and think you might like the diesel, forget any dreams you might have of showing it who's boss down a country lane. Engine aside I can echo was everyone else has said: a fantastic, well built, dependable city car.

Jamie Cunningham, August 21st 2008

i Rhythm 3dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG60 mpg

This car underneath is a Toyota Aygo through and through, except without the price tag. Believe me, I lifted the bonnet and the Toyota named is tagged on the engine parts. My wife has this car as a town run about, it's an excellent, fun car to drive. It is nippy, comfortable, very economical. All it asks is that you press the accelerator abit more and you're rewarded with the car sounding like a racing car! Even better, it still averages 60mpg and the road tax I believe is coming down to Β£20 per year! The Rhythm model is a good one to go for as you get the remote locking, electric windows and side airbags. If you want a cheap and reliable run around, then its the one to go for.

and Mrs Foster, Cambridgeshire, August 13th 2008

i Vibe 3dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality3/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

Bought this for the wife and daughter to use, its an o6 with 11,000 miles on the clock. Both are over the moon with it. I can recommend this to anyone who wants a fun car to drive around in. It's nippy and very economical. I have only one complaint and that is the ride can be a bit harsh at times.

stuart pearson, July 28th 2008

i Vibe 3dr

  • Overall verdict1/5
  • What it's like to drive3/5
  • Running costs1/5
  • Quality3/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

I purchased the C1 vibe April 2007, within 15 months the following problems occurred; clutch was slipping, the dealership adjusted the clutch cable. Inside 2 days the clutch was slipping again. After dealership investigation the clutch was replaced due to a default in manufacturing. Returning from a holiday found liquid beneath the vehicle, the AA was called and advised not to drive the vehicle so the car was towed to the dealership. The dive shaft seals had leaked all the oil and the vehicle would have seized if driven. The clutch then began to stick when the clutch pedal was depressed; dealership replaced the cable and plastic clutch bush (sort of washer that links the cable to the clutch). The steering then made a loud rubbing noise when turned to full lock, after various parts being replaced over the next week the entire steering assembly was replaced. The vehicle at present is at the dealership with excessive wear on the clutch plate after only 15 months, but alas my three year warranty does not cover the clutch even with the history of the vehicle, so the bill is Β£575 to be paid tomorrow. The dealership have always repaired the vehicle but take no responsibility for the trouble and stress caused by over 30 days of the vehicle in the garage, even though they sell the product and vouch for it. Citroen UK customer relations were cold and seemed to have little interest. They offered Β£300 off a new car (as if I would buy a Citroen again) or a free service.

Matthew Cox, UK, July 24th 2008

i Rhythm 3dr

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG60 mpg

I have recently purchased a C1 Rhythm model over the Vibe mainly because of the substantial increase in kit provided, making the choice really a no brainer. I have owned many small cars in the past and the C1 is outstanding. It's running costs are minimal, I'm getting 60mpg whilst running it in, Β£35 a year RFL to make you feel good, and Gp 1 insurance - you'd have to buy a moped to get motoring cheaper. It's handling is all you can expect from thin tyres and a light body, but it easily keeps up with traffic. I have yet to drive at motorway speeds but I do not see any problems. Poor reviews from people generally are because they expect far too much from it's specification. It's funky with the mini-esque rev counter, well built (no creaks or rattles), and has genuine charm - a factor that most modern cars do not have. If you want a smile and to drastically cut motoring costs, then buy one! ps. fgv is 50% in 3 years - that's up with BMW and Mercs!!

Howard Parker, Lancashire, July 9th 2008

i Rhythm 3dr

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

This is a marmite car. Looks awfull from the outside (especially the C1 & 107 versions), the Aygo deffinately wons the beauty contest. they all look better inside. It is ASDA smart price motoring for the masses, (how thin are those seats!) i love that teflon effect dash though, and it feels good inside. Outside is not so good quality. Wont be buying one. 1.0 Toyota 3 cylinder jobby is harsh but surprisngly good on the motorway. Not as good as the old AX.

Andrew Hood, July 8th 2008

i Rhythm 5dr

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

What an amazing little car! Never imagined we'd take ownership of a French motor, we prefer Japanese for the quality & reliability. However, this is really a Toyota in Citroen disguise! We got a brilliant deal a month ago. 07 plate, less than 1,000 miles on the clock, air con & metallic paint for Β£2,000 less than list price. The C1 excels in everything it's designed for. Nippy & cheeky is the best description, roomy, comfortable, easy & fun to drive. Parking's a doddle too. Very cheap to run. Β£35 per year for road tax & Group 1 insurance, but that's because it is a very "Green" car. The only down side we have found is, it does buffet about on blustery days on the open road & there's not enough boot space for a family shop, but the rear seats do split & fold so it's not so bad. The advantages of this little car far outweigh the disadvantages & represent excellent value for money. Highly recommended. Go on, swap your fuel guzzling 4WD for one of these, loads cheaper, eco friendly & you'll be able to drive it properly!I dare you!

Alison Toker, West Yorkshire, March 3rd 2008

HDi Rhythm 5dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

If you read most reviws of my car they say the diesel is noisy and not as economical as the petrol and you cannot justifie the extra cost. Well all these points are false.I paid Β£7,295 for my new Caldera Black C1 diesel and now it has nearly 6000 miles on the clock and the engine is extreamly flexible and ive returned nearly 90mpg on a journey to Cardiff. You buy a diesel because you like the way it operates with all the power low down the rev range which makes for far more relaxing driving especially around town.Since its a Citroen i like the supportive seats and firm ride and its funky interior. The only fault with the car is a lack of an intercooler on that gem of an engine.They say it returns 83mpg on the extra urban cycle well its true and you donot have drive like a snail to achieve that sort of economy. With the Β£5 a gallon here to stay this little car makes more sense and it even costs nothing to drive into London.Only a fool would pay Β£25 a day for the pleasure. Would i recommend this car to a friend YOU BET as 68mpg in normal driving is what im getting at the moment when most other drivers can only dream of such economy. I look at the price of fuel with disdane because it doesnot effect me as much.When you are doing so much on a gallon of fuel it takes me nearly a fortnight to use a tank of fuel and with only a 7gallon tank it doesnot break the bank to fill up. Now if fuel reached Β£7 a gallon then it might hurt but at the moment Β£5 is about right.

Peter Lewis, Conwy, March 2nd 2008

i Vibe 3dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

traded my chevrolet matiz in for a c1 in october . this is a much better car , feels like its built like a tank compared to matiz . lacks extras , but this makes it even more charming , when you think about it do you really need electric windows and central locking on a three door car ? in black it looks really cool , and turns heads , plus the three cylinder engine roar is fantastic , and it goes really well whilst always doing 50mpg . plus Β£35tax . buy one now best car ive owned .

peter warner, warwickshire, February 3rd 2008

i Vibe 3dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality3/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

just purchased a c1 vibe and today i swap my most loved c2vts in part exchange for it .love the shape and how the running costs are virtually going to half watch this space get back to you on the drive.

fiona tatlock, lancs, January 22nd 2008

i Vibe 5dr

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive5/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality3/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

I agree that its a fab car to drive & a dream to park .The running cost are super as well .My only faults are when new the wheel trims were forever flying off ? Although I have car mats the carpet has started wearing very thin & then recently the lock has gone on my drivers side..Yes all fixable but does put me off a tad ! Although at least its not the mechanics of the car.If I hadn't experienced these problems after driving lots of cars in my time I would have given it 100%. Mine is only 15 months old.

Jacquie Hardy, January 21st 2008

i Rhythm 5dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

I Love this car! I have now had my C1 for nearly 2 years and i really would not be without it, i am on a 3yr scheme and i am dreading having to hand it back and look for something else. To drive its amazing i have taken it on over 200 mile journeys nearly 20 times and i have had no problems at all, also loved the lack of fuel it actually uses to get me there! I live in Birmingham and getting around the city day in day out is fab! Passangers always say "How did you get it in there!" when parking but i have complete confidence in this car and the little spaces it can fill. For anyone or any age this is a fab car and a dream to run, in 2 years (touch wood) i have had no problems with this car. The interior is amazing and everyone is always amazed that it has 5 doors and the space in the back seats is a dream, althought the boot is tiny but what do you expect the car is so small it's not a magic trick! I have a 4 month old chocolate labrador and he loves having he's seat belt on and coming for a ride in my car! Great car for all - I love it xxxx

joanne sullivan, west midlands, January 9th 2008

Need a valuation?

Obtain a FREE used car valuation for any vehicle.

GB