e-HDi Airdream VTR+ 5dr ETG

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG57 mpg

Citroen is good for over 35s. My Mercedes C-Class Coupe was too expensive to drive - fuel, insurance & servicing costs. I wanted to save money and drive something that was luxurious & practical. I did lot of research and narrowed down to VW Golf, Mazda 3 and Ford Fiesta. But all of them lacked one thing or the other. I wanted low insurance group, high fuel efficiency, low CO2, cruise control & automatic gearbox as essentials with built in sat-nav desirable. I then went to Citroen dealership just because it was on my way to work and they had this perfect car for me. It had something called EGS which stands for 'electronic gearbox system'. This is automatic with a difference - it is more fuel efficient than a manual gearbox rather than the opposite! This car had built in Sat Nav which I later found out was rated the most easy to use Sat Nav by a famous consumer website/magazine. You can only find this Sat Nav in Citroen and Peugeot cars. This Citroen has paddle shift on the steering wheel if you want to change gears manually. It has very low insurance costs and has cruise control, speed limiter & automatic air conditioning. The seating is high so I don't get back ache that I used to get in the low seating Mercedes on long journeys. It has a sub woofer at the back with great sound, zenith panoramic windscreen & USB input to play songs from my smartphone. I pay nothing in road tax because it has 99g CO2, I pay less than half insurance and it uses half the Diesel. Great choice!!

Anshuman Saxena, March 13th 2014

e-HDi Airdream VTR+ 5dr EGS

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG57 mpg

Citroen is good for over 35s. My Mercedes C-Class Coupe was too expensive to drive - fuel, insurance & servicing costs. I wanted to save money and drive something that was luxurious & practical. I did lot of research and narrowed down to VW Golf, Mazda 3 and Ford Fiesta. But all of them lacked one thing or the other. I wanted low insurance group, high fuel efficiency, low CO2, cruise control & automatic gearbox as essentials with built in sat-nav desirable. I then went to Citroen dealership just because it was on my way to work and they had this perfect car for me. It had something called EGS which stands for 'electronic gearbox system'. This is automatic with a difference - it is more fuel efficient than a manual gearbox rather than the opposite! This car had built in Sat Nav which I later found out was rated the most easy to use Sat Nav by a famous consumer website/magazine. You can only find this Sat Nav in Citroen and Peugeot cars. This Citroen has paddle shift on the steering wheel if you want to change gears manually. It has very low insurance costs and has cruise control, speed limiter & automatic air conditioning. The seating is high so I don't get back ache that I used to get in the low seating Mercedes on long journeys. It has a sub woofer at the back with great sound, zenith panoramic windscreen & USB input to play songs from my smartphone. I pay nothing in road tax because it has 99g CO2, I pay less than half insurance and it uses half the Diesel. Great choice!!

Anshuman Saxena, March 13th 2014

e-HDi Airdream VTR+ 5dr EGS

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality5/5
  • Average MPG57 mpg

Citroen is good for over 35s. My Mercedes C-Class Coupe was too expensive to drive - fuel, insurance & servicing costs. I wanted to save money and drive something that was luxurious & practical. I did lot of research and narrowed down to VW Golf, Mazda 3 and Ford Fiesta. But all of them lacked one thing or the other. I wanted low insurance group, high fuel efficiency, low CO2, cruise control & automatic gearbox as essentials with built in sat-nav desirable. I then went to Citroen dealership just because it was on my way to work and they had this perfect car for me. It had something called EGS which stands for 'electronic gearbox system'. This is automatic with a difference - it is more fuel efficient than a manual gearbox rather than the opposite! This car had built in Sat Nav which I later found out was rated the most easy to use Sat Nav by a famous consumer website/magazine. You can only find this Sat Nav in Citroen and Peugeot cars. This Citroen has paddle shift on the steering wheel if you want to change gears manually. It has very low insurance costs and has cruise control, speed limiter & automatic air conditioning. The seating is high so I don't get back ache that I used to get in the low seating Mercedes on long journeys. It has a sub woofer at the back with great sound, zenith panoramic windscreen & USB input to play songs from my smartphone. I pay nothing in road tax because it has 99g CO2, I pay less than half insurance and it uses half the Diesel. Great choice!!

Anshuman Saxena, March 13th 2014

e-HDi Airdream VTR+ 5dr EGS

  • Overall verdict1/5
  • What it's like to drive1/5
  • Running costs3/5
  • Quality1/5
  • Average MPG50 mpg

I am a community nurse so need a car to do my job.I had a Seat Ibiza before which was superb but wanted a diesel auto for ease of driving and economy.I sadly went for one of these from brand new.Everyone laughed as said they were for v old people!I've had it now for 4 months and it is truly DIABOLICAL, in every sense. I test drove one twice and it felt good, but after having it for the first week I realised just how uncomfortable the driving position is. I'm 6ft3" and although the head room is OK, the footwell design is beyond awful. The raise for the left foot is way too high and no room for the right foot to rest when in cruise control as my Seat had. Even on its lowest the seat is way to high in ratio to your arms and it has really set off my sciatic nerve pain.I simply can not get comfortable in it and long journeys are horrific.It's so bumpy, so don't believe the reviews that say it 'irons out potholes nicely', it's more likely to put your back out. At speeds of 70MPH you can't hear yourself think. The WORST thing of all is the EGS Gearbox. HOW DID ROAD SAFETY PASS THIS??? I've had so many heart in mouth moments it's frightening, especially at roundabouts as you put your foot down and literally nothing happens, it's those vital seconds that can prevent a serious RTA. I DO NOT feel safe in this. I drive extremely carefully and don't use excessive speed or revs.I WISH I'd have read this before I got one :-(

dave woolrich, March 12th 2014

e-HDi Airdream VTR+ 5dr ETG

  • Overall verdict1/5
  • What it's like to drive1/5
  • Running costs3/5
  • Quality1/5
  • Average MPG50 mpg

I am a community nurse so need a car to do my job.I had a Seat Ibiza before which was superb but wanted a diesel auto for ease of driving and economy.I sadly went for one of these from brand new.Everyone laughed as said they were for v old people!I've had it now for 4 months and it is truly DIABOLICAL, in every sense. I test drove one twice and it felt good, but after having it for the first week I realised just how uncomfortable the driving position is. I'm 6ft3" and although the head room is OK, the footwell design is beyond awful. The raise for the left foot is way too high and no room for the right foot to rest when in cruise control as my Seat had. Even on its lowest the seat is way to high in ratio to your arms and it has really set off my sciatic nerve pain.I simply can not get comfortable in it and long journeys are horrific.It's so bumpy, so don't believe the reviews that say it 'irons out potholes nicely', it's more likely to put your back out. At speeds of 70MPH you can't hear yourself think. The WORST thing of all is the EGS Gearbox. HOW DID ROAD SAFETY PASS THIS??? I've had so many heart in mouth moments it's frightening, especially at roundabouts as you put your foot down and literally nothing happens, it's those vital seconds that can prevent a serious RTA. I DO NOT feel safe in this. I drive extremely carefully and don't use excessive speed or revs.I WISH I'd have read this before I got one :-(

dave woolrich, March 12th 2014

e-HDi Airdream VTR+ 5dr EGS

  • Overall verdict1/5
  • What it's like to drive1/5
  • Running costs3/5
  • Quality1/5
  • Average MPG50 mpg

I am a community nurse so need a car to do my job.I had a Seat Ibiza before which was superb but wanted a diesel auto for ease of driving and economy.I sadly went for one of these from brand new.Everyone laughed as said they were for v old people!I've had it now for 4 months and it is truly DIABOLICAL, in every sense. I test drove one twice and it felt good, but after having it for the first week I realised just how uncomfortable the driving position is. I'm 6ft3" and although the head room is OK, the footwell design is beyond awful. The raise for the left foot is way too high and no room for the right foot to rest when in cruise control as my Seat had. Even on its lowest the seat is way to high in ratio to your arms and it has really set off my sciatic nerve pain.I simply can not get comfortable in it and long journeys are horrific.It's so bumpy, so don't believe the reviews that say it 'irons out potholes nicely', it's more likely to put your back out. At speeds of 70MPH you can't hear yourself think. The WORST thing of all is the EGS Gearbox. HOW DID ROAD SAFETY PASS THIS??? I've had so many heart in mouth moments it's frightening, especially at roundabouts as you put your foot down and literally nothing happens, it's those vital seconds that can prevent a serious RTA. I DO NOT feel safe in this. I drive extremely carefully and don't use excessive speed or revs.I WISH I'd have read this before I got one :-(

dave woolrich, March 12th 2014

HDi 16V Airdream+ 5dr

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive3/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

Previously owned 2 C3's, known as the "Beach Cars" by the family due to their poor build quality. This model is a real improvement in every way particularly equipment, build quality, ride and economy. Not a car for throwing around corners but the performance is fine in town and on the motorway. So far no problems (11000 miles since January)and given the new car price was discounted from Β£15190 to Β£10999, this was a good value purchase, even accounting for the probable poor resale value. Economy thus far 67 m.p.g on mostly 30 mile commutes; bluetooth, cruise and rear parking aids all standard.

david evans, berks, September 7th 2011

i Connexion 5dr

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG45 mpg

I drive a special edition model based on the VTR+ its called the Connexion. It has additional equipment such as a My Way Sat Nav system with climate control and a shiny black dashboard finish. The layout in the cabin is good. Everything is easily accessable and the instruments easy to read.I am glad Citreon have return to the analogue dials for the tacho and speedometer. The finish in the interior is good and the addition of a Zenith Panoramic Screen (which can close down from the inside to a normal screen) makes the inside lighter.The seats are comfortable and there is a footrest for your left foot. The car is also equiped with cruise control which is very easy to operate and a speed limiter. The exterior is good looking too. I have got the polar white model and with the chrome trim and black plastic inserts on the front grill together with alloy wheels it does catch the eye. The windows are tinted and the top of the zenith screen to avoid glare. The power unit is quiet ( I have the 1.4 petrol 75bhp) A nippy little unit and offers a satisfactory economy. It is easy to drive and the ride is designed for the bumpy British roads. The steering is light and takes a little getting use to. Fabulous little car Citreon are definately getting more competitive.

Desmond Boddington, Hampshire, June 11th 2011

VTi 16V Exclusive 5dr

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG45 mpg

This is the first small car I've owned, and I've have to say there is much to like about this one. On the plus side, its a good looking car, has very comfortable seats and a dash that's easy on the eye. It's refined, has a good driving position and superb all round visability. The boot space is reasonable as is the mpg, and its sensibly priced v the Golf and 207. On the negative side, its a bit tight on space for leg and headroom in the rear, it has a few rattling areas in the interior,the gloves box is a waste of time and the steering is a bit vague (which is common, I beleive for most cars in this class). If your looking for a supermini, you should test drive this car. The positives far outweigh the negatives, and its considerably better looking than the nasty box offered by Volkswagen in the shape of the Golf and Polo that 'What Car' seem to rave about to the exclusion of most other cars in this class.

Paul Skeates, xxxxxxxxxxxxx, April 26th 2011

i 16V Exclusive 5dr Sensodrive

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG39 mpg

Well I thought I would stick up for this little car considering the slating that it seems to be getting. It seems that people really only write reviews unless they have something to winge about. Bought an Ex-Motobility 06 55 Exclusive Sensodrive with 19,000 miles for just under Β£4k, as a present for my mother who can only drive auto's and she is thrilled to bits with it. Spotless and well kept, 1 female owner car. Granted its not a car that would suit a boy racer, but get a grip people, if you want a performance product to tear up the streets with, you dont buy a C3 semi-auto!!!!! I admit, you can feel the difference when between that and a regular auto when it changes gear, but its not anything to write home about and the more you drive the car, the less you notice, and if you drive like a normal person, you dont really give the car the opportunity to jump, and as for the comments about it not finding the right gear if you go to move off after not having completely stopped, thats just nonsense as well. My car is a Jag XJ6, and I dont feel unsafe driving the C3. For such a small cheap car, it has kit such as electric folding mirrors and climate control, and up to now, it all works. So if you are considering a C3, dont be put off by all the moaning, just do what you would do if you are looking at any car and make sure all the buttons work and it has a full history. And as for the Sensodrive, if you are not looking to set any land speed records, then dont be put off.

Paul Keating, Midlothian, March 13th 2011

HDi 16V Exclusive 5dr

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG50.4 mpg

Having now covered 6,000 miles in our Citroen C3 from new, I find the car a joy to drive. The 17" wheels we opted for were a cheap optional extra (Β£100) when you consider the 'nicer' sets of alloy wheels you can spec on cars can cost you arm and a leg (upgraded alloys on my BMW cost over Β£2000!), but more importantly they don't seem to hamper either the comfort of the ride or the fuel consumption considerably. Whilst the looks of the Citroen DS3 (the 3-door version) are the more fashionable we required the back doors of this model and the wheels, black paint and added detail of the Exclusive model make it look a little more executive than the badge perhaps suggests. We have the 90bhp 1.6hdi which I had doubts over given the quantity of motorway driving I do. I thought a six speed would suit fuel economy better, but this seems more than adequate without the need to drive it like a tachophobic. The steering is light and easy and not what I would appreciate if I had bought myself a sports car. But this is a city car/small family car really and as such it moves without much effort. The engine itself doesn't struggle and although the 0-60 time might not be great, the torque that is provided is great. Overtaking is faultless and acceleration through the mid-range gears keeps pace on the motorway. The space is fantastic and I can easily fit four or five adults (all 6 footers) with luggage for a weekend without the need to get cramped.

Michael Kaiser, Leicestershire, February 23rd 2011

i 16V XTR 5dr Sensodrive

  • Overall verdict2/5
  • What it's like to drive2/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality2/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

I had terriable experience about thgis car. Purchase it in year 2008 June sensodrive, 2004 Reg with 1.4 engine power,The first 4 months was ok to drive however the nightmare comes after that. First problems came out was gearbox, gear could not be changed in the middle of roundabout and car was totally stop!! Spent 250 to fix it. And recently one thing happened which finally really pulled me off. I was driving in M3 with 75 speed and suddenly the engine cut off. Luckily I reacted it pretty fast and park car in the hardshoulder waiting for RAC came. Citroen Garage detected there is a battery problem so I have to change the battery again. However the car is still getting the same problem and 4 days ago when I drove in M25, I heard battery warning sound came out and saw the warning light again. I have to park in hardshoulder and decided to call garage ask for help. I asked them to provide me some ideas shall I keep driving or any technical suggestion they can give to me. The guy used to deal with me and pick up the phone said: Sorry miss, we are not RAC, we wont give u any advice unless u drive to garage again. However we've checked it and from our computer ur car is absoulutely fine so we cannot do anything for you either!! Fair enough, the main dealer couldnt find whats going on. Finally i decide to sell my car and change to Mazda3. Personally think C3 shouldnt issue this car to the market!!

Jessica Wang, United Kingdom, January 31st 2009

HDi 16V Exclusive 5dr

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG54 mpg

We are now on our second C3. The first 1.4hdi SX covered 60k mostly trouble free miles and was very economical, at around 60 mpg. On the continent it would cruise at near 80 mph with no fuss and still deliver about 59 mpg. The air con did not work from new but was fixed by the dealer by replacing a seal. Last year we replaced it with the 1.6 hdi Exclusive which up to now (6k miles) has been as near perfect as a car can get. I don't understand the remarks about the flimsy trim, it's perfectly acceptable and the front seats are comfortable. The 1.6 engine does not deliver quite the economy of the 1.4, about 54 mpg, and is perhaps slightly noisier but it's still a pleasant little car to drive. Perhaps we have been lucky, but this is our experience. Here's hoping it will continue like the last one.

Rodney Vincent, Cambs, January 17th 2009

i Desire 5dr

  • Overall verdict3/5
  • What it's like to drive3/5
  • Running costs1/5
  • Quality2/5
  • Average MPG30 mpg

Up until today I have owned the C3 1.1 Desire on an 04 plate. When I bought it it had 16,000 miles on the clock with one lady owner and had experienced no problems up until that date. Within six months of me owning it, it needed the alternator changing and luckily this was still under manufacturers waranty at Β£220. Two years later and the damn thing has gone again so have decided to get rid of it and buy a Ford Focus diesel. Other problems during my time with the car were strange losses of power and a dimming dash display, probably to do with the alternator but who knows. The headlights bulbs need replacing on a regular basis. The bulbs themselves are almost impossible to replace unless you take the headlight unit completely out and this will cost you in a garage around Β£30!! Another bad point to note is the annual tax which seems expensive for such an under powered car. The mpg on it is around 30 in my experience. The only positive I can find is its size, its bigger than most cars in its class and good for the weekly shop or school run. Other than that its an expensive to run, unreliable little car....

henry street, South Glamorgan, January 14th 2009

i 16V Rhythm Stop and Start 5dr Sensodrive

  • Overall verdict1/5
  • What it's like to drive1/5
  • Running costs1/5
  • Quality1/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

I purchased this last christmas,mainly sold on the fuel efficency. This has to be the worst christmas pressie ever! It is currently abandoned on a Citroen forecourt as the eco system seems to have overridden anything on the car,will not select gear,will not move! Great for a car that has less than 24k miles on the clock! Citroen may look at it this side of christmas but it gets worse,it is still under warrenty but because christmas is a bank holiday they can not let me have a hire car as they do not let them out over bank hols,so Iam currently paying Β£25 a day for a car! This car is a nightmare to drive as it struggles to select a gear at the best of times,in a morning I have to wait and wait and wait until it decides to select 1st. It stalls on roundabouts even though it is an automatic. I paid 5700 and the garage have offered 4k in less than 10 months after purchase so I am tied to it financially. This car is dangerous,unreliable and still only does 44mpg!

Victoria lewis, December 22nd 2008

HDi 16V SX 5dr

  • Overall verdict1/5
  • What it's like to drive1/5
  • Running costs2/5
  • Quality1/5
  • Average MPG40 mpg

Bought for my wife, it's a 2003 model and we got it when it was 2 and a half years old and had done 19000mls. Fan belt melted after 1 day as alternator was on wrong side of brackets, dealer asked me if I had done any work to the car, when they fixed it they had removed the intercooler hose for access and did not fit it back properly hence day later burning black smoke. Front springs snapped,when I asked why we were not advised of recall the dealer just glowered at me, spring cups fitted then ball joint failed. Car is good on fuel and road tax is low but interior plastics very flimsy and window swithes break and intermitant fault with power stearing, also when cornering if you hit a slight bump car "hops" on the road. This car is not a good town car, labours in second gear under 20mph so you have to work the clutch hard,also on long journeys the driving position is very uncomfortable. To summerise we had owned 3 Citroens before this model with no problems but this car is the worst car we have ever owned and we have had some honeys.

James Pentecost, Stirlingshire, November 12th 2008

i Desire 5dr

  • Overall verdict1/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs1/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG25 mpg

The C3 has to be the least reliable car I've owned since I started buying cars in 1971. The Engine Warning Light comes on, the car usually goes into "limp home mode" and is downwrite dangerous to drive with as close to zero power as you can imagain. Sometimes the light comes on but drives normally. Citroen UK just do not know how to diagnose this. They read the error codes, and say "looks like the coil" or "looks like the spark plugs" or "looks like a wiring problem" or "change the accelerator pedal and see if that fixes it". The fault goes away for a few days, then sure as eggs, its back with the SAME symptoms. The parts replaced have had no impact on the problem. Of course, Citroens strategy is to replace something and generate a bill. Then change something else... and generate a bill. They clearly do not have a clue how to troubleshoot problems like this. I doubt that they will ever fix this (well, till even the wheel nuts have been replaced), so I'm starting legal action I know one thing - I'll never EVER buy a citroen, even if they give them away with sugar puffs!

john corne, berkshire, September 20th 2008

i L 5dr

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive3/5
  • Running costs4/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

Ive owned just about every modern Citroen from the last 12 years, and when having major hassle with my C4 i considered buying one these because i loved all the closely related C2's i'd had. However, after an extensive test drive i just didnt enjoy it as much as the C2. 1.1 engine didnt have enough pull and the driving position/high windscreen line from the inside is awfull, like the old 2CV's. The stying is suspect too, only looks good with the bigger wheeled higher spec models, cant help but feel its a bit too round though. It is practical mind, decent enough cabin and boot space and should prove cheap (when under warranty!) but ive lost my love affair with Citroen now.

Andrew Hood, July 10th 2008

HDi 16V Exclusive 5dr

  • Overall verdict5/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

I have been driving my new '08 Cit C3 and I love it. After previously owning a 8 year old 1.6 golf (unleaded) and doing 500 miles a week, I have slashed my fuel bill in half, by having a diesel model.I plumped for black model as I felt this made more of a statement than the light blue or red models you see around. On the test drive my husband and I thought the dealer had given us the petrol version as the engine is so quiet for a diesel. I am more than happy with the looks and performance of this car.

Sal Wathen, Gloucestershire, May 3rd 2008

i Vibe 5dr

  • Overall verdict4/5
  • What it's like to drive4/5
  • Running costs5/5
  • Quality4/5
  • Average MPG0 mpg

My wife has owned this car from new last year, and apart from an electrical download when it stalled a couple of times, it does exactly what it says on the tin. Rear space is acceptable for adults despite waht the 'critics' say, slightly sluggish but when up to speed is fine, build quality good, dealers helpful,and good running costs.Comfortable ride and boot space is good for a second car Generally very happy with the overall package, considering that the C3 is now seven years old. Car tax Β£120 per year, but only requires a service every 2 years, so that cancels that out.

Edward Moseley, Worcs, April 26th 2008

Need a valuation?

Obtain a FREE used car valuation for any vehicle.

GB