Car of the Year longlist announced

* 2013 What Car? Car of the Year contenders announced * Winner will come from this list * Results announced at ceremony on 9 January...

Car of the Year longlist announced

The contenders for the 2013 What Car? Car of the Year Award have been revealed.

The winner will be announced at a prestigious ceremony at the Grosvenor House in London on 9 January, and it will definitely be one of the cars listed below.

It is already shaping up to be one of the toughest-fought years for Car of the Year, said What Car? editor-in-chief Chas Hallett. There are plenty of top contenders in this years longlist, and this is proof that the automotive industry is producing plenty of good-value, economical and desirable cars.

Keep up with what is happening on the night by following @whatcar on Twitter with the hashtag #whatcarawards.

The 2013 What Car? Car of the Year longlist

City car
Sponsored by Warranty Direct
Last years winner:
Volkswagen Up

Other contenders:
Fiat Panda
Seat Mii
Skoda Citigo
Vauxhall Adam

Last years winner:
Audi A1

Other contenders:
Dacia Sandero
Ford Fiesta
Peugeot 208
Renault Clio
Renault Zoe

Small family car
This years contenders:
Audi A3
Kia Ceed
Mercedes A-Class
Seat Leon
Seat Toledo
Skoda Rapid
Volkswagen Golf Mk7

Last years winner:
Volkswagen Golf Mk6 (no longer on sale)

Family car
Last years winner:
Ford Mondeo

Other contenders:
Mazda 6
Skoda Superb
Volkswagen Passat

Estate car
Last years winner:
Ford Mondeo Estate

Other contenders:
BMW 3 Series Touring
Jaguar XF Sportbrake
Kia Ceed SW
Mazda 6 Estate
Mercedes CLS Shooting Brake

Sports car
Sponsored by Cobra
Last years winner:
Porsche 911

Other contenders:
Aston Martin Vanquish
Audi R8
Audi RS4 Avant
Ferrari F12
McLaren MP4-12C Spider
Mercedes C63 Black Series
Porsche Boxster

Last years winner:
Seat Alhambra

Other contenders:
Citroen C3 Picasso
Fiat 500L
Ford B-Max
Kia Carens
Toyota Prius+

Last years winner:
Audi TT

Other contenders:
Hyundai Veloster Turbo
Mini Coupe Cooper S
Subaru BRZ
Toyota GT86

Hot hatch
Last years winner:
Renault Megane Renaultsport 250 Cup

Other contenders:
BMW M135i
Ford Fiesta ST
Ford Focus ST
Kia Ceed Turbo

Last years winner:

Other contenders:
Audi Q3
Honda CR-V
Hyundai Santa Fe
Land Rover Freelander
Mazda CX-5
Mercedes ML
Vauxhall Mokka

Executive car
Sponsored by Allianz Global Assistance
Last years winner:
BMW 3 Series

Other contenders:
Audi A6
BMW 5 Series
BMW 6 Series Gran Coupe
Jaguar XF

Open-top car
Last years winner:
Audi TT Roadster

Other contenders:
Mercedes E-Class Cabriolet
Mercedes SL
Mini Roadster

Luxury car
Sponsored by Tracker
Last years winner:
Mercedes S-Class

Other contenders:
Audi A8
Jaguar XJ
Range Rover
Rolls-Royce Phantom

By Tom Webster