We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    3 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
62 reader reviews for Volkswagen Passat Saloon.
  • 1.9 TDI PD Highline 4dr

    J Kelly Date: 08/11/2007
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars

    My car

    This is the second Passat I have had as a company car. I think that it is a fantastic vehicle and neither of my Passats has given any reliability problems.

    I drive 30,000 miles a year, mostly on motorways, and I find it very powerful, economical and practical. It cruises effortlessly and I arrive after long journeys without feeling fatigued.

    This VW can be driven hard and can leave most cars in its wake, yet still deliver an average of 45mpg.

    Having just missed out on the new model Passat in 2005, my current car is the Highline with end-of-range toys such as leather upholstery, air-con, heated seats, parking sensors and six-CD autochanger in the dashboard.

    I have just ordered a new Passat 2.0 TDI 140 SE and can’t wait to get it in January 2008.

    I recommend a Passat to anyone looking for comfort, performance and economy.

  • 1.9 TDI PD Sport 4dr

    Damian Fenton , northamptonshire . Date: 22/09/2007
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars

    My car

    Unbeatable!!In Jan 2006 I purchased a June 2002 model from a reputable fleet company with 81k of business miles on the clock. The inside and outside were and still are still in showroom condition througout. Instantly I was highly impressed with the mountains of power delivered through the 128bhp turbo, with the engine still feeling tight as a drum regardless of the 81k. Last year I took the car along with my family across the water on a European tour an saw a return of 56mpg throughout most of the driving time. As a motorway cruiser, the power and performance of this car, in this price range, I think would be hard to beat. Additionally it makes a sound family car with huge bootspace and superb build quality, Fantastic!!!1 If you are on a tighter budget, it's distant cousin the Skoda Superb does exactly the same job, just with slightly more rear legroom.

  • 1.8T Sport 4dr

    M Jones Date: 05/09/2007
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I hired a 1.9 turbo diesel saab and was so impressed wanted one Went to an independent dealer and took a petrol 02 plate saab 93 2.0 turbo for a spin. Next to it on the lot was a nicer looking, better colour 52 plate Passat for the same price. It was a much nicer car to drive, the interior was a million times nicer, it just felt a lot more secure and assured. Anyhow, I have ended up with the VW and have been cautiously impressed. I say cautiously impressed because after reading some of the reports here, I’m expecting something to go wrong. I have done 5k miles in a month, with no problems. Apart from One rainy morning the indicators didn't work. I was really cursing the dealer as it was only a couple of days after buying the car. I drove over a speed bump and bingo, they worked again. This fits in with the electrical problems reported but there has been many a rainy day since but no problems (the night before, I fitted a new cd player, maybe it was my duff connections causing the fault). I can’t say I am over the moon with the car as I’m only getting 32-34 mpg. I did get 39 on a long motorway/duel carriageway journey, but did 60mph all the way. Also it’s very hard to get comfortable. I have plenty of time to get to the optimum position, but when the missus borrows the car to nip down the shop, she mucks it all up. I'll see how another month, 5k miles, and its 60k service goes.

  • 1.9 TDI PD SE 4dr

    dave mc mahon , city of glasgow . Date: 10/08/2007
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I bought in this car in September 2006. It has been no trouble at all, with only a slight rattle in second gear for which I will ask advice at the next service.

    I'm getting 50mpg on average (600 miles) to a full tank. Oil usage is good, too - the car has 30,000 on the clock.

    All in all, it's a nice, comfy reliable car.

Volkswagen Passat Saloon

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014