Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    4 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
15 reader reviews for Volkswagen Tiguan Crossover.
  • 2.0 TSI 200 R Line 4WD 5dr

    Trevor Law , . Date: 30/06/2015
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      32

    My car

    My vehicle is a 4 wheel-drive auto, registered in December 2009 and has now (June 2015) covered 56,500 miles. I have owned more exciting cars (2 BMW M5's, an M3 and a Jag XJR amongst them, so the Tiguan was never likely to feel really quick. However it has a totally usable performance - the diesel engine really suits the car and it is quick enough for our benighted road system in the current decade. Many commentators have stated that the Tiguan feels like a good hatchback and I have to agree. It really is like a taller heavier Golf with really good handling and balance.

    The car has needed replacement of one catalytic converter (under vehicle warranty) and one Xenon Headlight unit. This catalyst is protected by running the car quickly every week! Initially I was disappointed the auto-box was not a twin-clutch as on previous VW Golf / Audi TTs. After over 50,000 miles with it I have decided it is probably a smoother drive system than by using twin-clutch / auto-box combination!

    The Tiguan has been an excellent companion for all types of use particularly on winter tyres. Would I buy another? Almost certainly... Roll on the 2016 replacement and I hope they use some nice interior colours. My car with cream leather and blue paintwork - really looks good - 19" Omanyte wheels help! I am appalled that all current new Tiguan R-Lines seem to have black upholstery and a poor range of colours...

  • 1.4 TSI 150 SE 4WD 5dr

    john bridger , . Date: 27/06/2014
    • Overall verdict
      3 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      26

    My car

    We bought our 1.4TSI 4 motion a month ago, and we've done about 1000 miles in it so far. We bought R Line and added premium and towbar packages. premium is worth the extra cost although note that the electric seat adjustment doesn't include a memory function. The towing package includes 'rear assist' but the display add little value and is hard to see in any sunlight, nor does it include any rear warning sensors, so it feels a little cheap in this respect. The car handles well, and although performance is a little boring teh car otself is very easy to drive with excellent driving position and comfort. The really BIG disappointment is fuel economy. VW claims for 31 MPG for this car seem wildly exagerated. So far we've only managed 26 mpg - and this is with careful, non-urban driving. We had high hopes that the 1.4 engine would be more economical for us.

  • 2.0 TDI 140 B'motion Tec SE 5dr

    Julian Bennett Date: 05/12/2013
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      39

    My car

    Had the car for 15 months now, followed 2 lovely Jaguar XJ's which were too big for Devon. Have to say the Tiguan is excellent. Practical, comfortable, nice feel to the handling, and is well made. Don't go for the harder riding S version as it is too firm, SE is just acceptable bearing in mind the handling. MPG depends alot on driving style, e.g cruise over 75mph and you will see 38mpg less than 75mph probably 41mpg. Can't understand why the X3 gets such good reviews from car Mag's, it really felt cheap and noisy in comparison.

  • 2.0 TDI 170 SE 4WD 5dr

    Clive Rosewell , England . Date: 02/04/2013
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars

    My car

    Picked up Tiguan a week ago so too early to comment upon running costs. Bought it to replace 2012 Audi A6; lovely car but too big for town committing and not practical for two dogs. I ordered a 170 SE but this was up graded mid-order at no extra cost from 170 to 177 with better seats and Blue Motion (basically seems to add gear change indicator) Change in spec mid-order meant longer delay, taking four months from doing deal to driving away, but salesman kept me informed Car is fun to drive , with great 4-motion working seamlessly away so you can throw it around and the acceleration is really lively; much nippier than the 170 I test drove, and as quick as the thirsty TSI. No brainer for me, go for the TDI 177, no need to go petrol. Cruises well at speed too. Ignore the reviews about engine performance etc as at time of writing all apply to old 170 engine. Interior is classy, with comfortable sears; quality is right up to the standard I enjoyed in the Audi. Some reviews said ride is firm but can't agree; ride is actually better than the A6. I went for the Sat Nav as a treat option having had it as standard on Audi - impressive and actually better than one on Audi. Only gripe is lack of information about spec details e.g. At pick up, found recognition removed from UK spec despite being promised it by salesman. I was spoilt by bi-xenon lights in Audi which are amazing and make Tiguan lights seem puny on country roads. Go for bi-xenon if your budget allows.

Volkswagen Tiguan Crossover

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2015