We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    4 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
41 reader reviews for Fiat 500 Hatchback.
  • 1.2 Pop 3dr

    Ross Cadogan , . Date: 10/05/2012
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      40

    My car

    The Fiat 500 is a cute and endearing car. Several people have complimented it in the week that I have had one on hire. Inside and out the styling is retro. The dashboard is colored to match the exterior paintwork and features pretty, old-school buttons. The instrument display is a beautiful arrangement of concentric circles. It's a fun car to sit in and be seen in.

    Things are less good with the 1.2l petrol engine. It's chirpy enough, but very weak. It generates just enough power for city driving, but out of town the engine struggles. This is a city car, and at motorway speeds the engine feels out of breath and cabin noise is loud.

    It's a small car too. The boot is twee and rear leg room is cramped, though head and legroom are ample up front. Its small size does allow for easier parking and city maneuvering; Both of which are helped by the electric steering which can be made finger light at low speeds, but which feels detached at higher speeds.

    Fuel economy is reasonable but not brilliant. The little engine does need to be pushed quite hard which cannot help its consumption. The stop/start system works well in traffic.

    The 500 is a desirable car that never looks out of place. It is fine for around town but struggles on longer journeys. I suggest considering the 0.9l twinair over the 1.2l engine for a livelier experience, or if you want to overtake anything with reasonable safety.

  • 1.4 T-Jet Abarth 3dr

    Alan Downie Date: 01/05/2012
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      47

    My car

    Car purchased 29.12.11 1st review 01.05.12 2nd Review 24.10.13

    Bought car nearly 2 years ago with 19k on clock. Clock now reads 39k on it.

    The story so far.

    Had to replace 2 front Head lights - Local quick fit sorted easy. Front Shocks were replaced under warranty after 22k on clock. And the rear boot release was replaced under warranty. It jammed and had to use key fob to open.

    At 22k though, ALL disc brakes AND pads needed replaced! Now i am not a hard driver and was surprised this needed done! Abarth Dealer ship wanted close to £800 all in! I priced the same parts and if you know what you are doing, can get all parts for £200-250 for non esse esse cars!

    Bluetooth works fine with Iphone 4S. USB socket i can only get working with a USB stick. Does not work with Iphone or MP3 players.

    Exterior, couple of stone chips on bonnet but overall don't have any complaints for the exterior of the car VS its age. Interior, nothing to complain about!

    Still Drives really well, but doesn't like pot hole filled roads!

    Car is amazing on the fuel! I get over 50mpg driving on A Roads! Insurance for a 32 year old coming in for me at £280-300

    overall, a damn fine car!

  • 0.9 TwinAir 85 Lounge 3dr

    Charles Smiles , West Sussex . Date: 12/11/2011
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      45

    My car

    I purchased this car new, in July this year after, having had experience of driving my wife's 500 1.2 Pop. Must admit I was a little dubious of driving a less then 900cc 2 cylinder engined car, but after a comprehensive test drive and fully testing the Dualogic gearbox to it's full potential I was won over.

    The car is fun to drive, very economical and the headroom in the car is most surprising seeing that I am 6ft tall. Have recently completed a 650 mile round trip which took in M25,M1,M18 and A19 which proved effortless.The driving position was comfortable and It held it's own amidst other traffic cruising along at 70mph and occasionally beyond.

    One thing to note is that looking at the manufacturers fuel consumption figures of 60+ mpg, I cannot see how this can be achieved. If you look on the Fiat Forum you will be pushed to find anyone who attains this figure. However on the long run I achieved 50mpg which is Ok by me.

    All in all I am pleased to have downsized from a larger family saloon. Bonuses are: easier to park, Zero Road Tax, £100 less on Insurance and a considerable saving on fuel.

  • 1.2 Lounge 3dr

    Callum Peters , . Date: 30/09/2011
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      50

    My car

    The 500 is great fun. Steering is direct, gear change is slick and acceleration is perky enough (even it if occasionally struggles in some gears). Revs need to be kept low for best fuel consumption - we find the best returns come from driving at 60 on the motorway (tops) and driving on A-roads and dual carriageways. We tend to get around the 50 mark but have achieved higher. It doesn't suck through the fuel too quickly, either, and filling the car up isn't too expensive in comparison to some cars.

    The quality of the interior so far appears to be excellent. Some soft-touch plastics would've been nice, but those that do feature in the 500 are tough and well put together. The interior is great to spend time in - lovely dashboard, clear buttons, although it's a shame the Blue & Me system isn't compatible with Apple products straight away - you have to buy an extra adaptor if you want to listen to your iPod tunes through the system! Practicality is fine - the boot swallows a surprising amount, although the rear seat bases are quite shallow so your legs are left wiggling about when you go round bends. All part of the fun though!

    Overall, ride quality could be better but the 500 really feels special on every journey. Great to drive, great to be in, and cheap to run.

Fiat 500 Hatchback

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014