We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    3 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
91 reader reviews for Honda CR-V 4x4.
  • 2.2 i-CTDi EX 5dr

    Terry Jackson , Essex . Date: 07/09/2008
    • Overall verdict
      3 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      36

    My car

    I bought this car in March 2008, within 6 weeks the clutch pedal started clicking, this was a metallic click that could both be felt and heard when operating the clutch. It has now been back 4 times and I am still having the problem. On the first 2 visits they greased the clutch pedal mechanism, on the 3rd visit the master cylinder was changed, on the 4th visit the clutch pedal assembly was changed. The changing of the whole pedal assembly appeared to cure the problem but after approx 6 weeks the noise returned. The local Honda Garage have said that Honda will not authorise another pedal assembly but have suggested that they change the pin that the pedal rotates on. I am now waiting for this part to be fitted but I am not confident that this will resolve problem. The Service Manager has told me that he has had approx 10 - 12 complaints of this problem. You would think that a company as big as Honda would be able to get this right, how on earth did they get such a high customer rating for reliability.

  • 2.2 i-CTDi ES 5dr

    John Muir , Sutherland . Date: 25/08/2008
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    This the first Honda CRV I have owned. Having had an Audi A4 for four years, I purchased it new in Sept 2007 and have done approx 12000 miles. Unlike some other reviewers I find it to be a great car to drive, lots of space, with good vision of the road and a responsive engine. Given the size of the engine I am quite pleased to get about 44 mpg on average on long runs - although it does not match the Audi A4's 50+. What would I like to see added to the car? Honda please note: a completely flat floor when rear seats folded down; a parking sensor in the middle of the front bumper - a"blind spot" in the system; windscreen washer level warning light; a climate control system that is as good as Audi. I too had pulling to the left but this was solved when, at the first service, the wheels were changed round and the tracking adjusted.

  • 2.0 i-VTEC EX Adv Safety 5dr

    Geoff March , Kent . Date: 06/08/2008
    • Overall verdict
      3 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      36

    My car

    I bought this car in September 2007 after a LOT of research. I am generally pleased with the car, which drives better than any of my previous cars and is very comfortable, but... My first niggle was the card slot. Compatibility was an issue and it does not always recognise the card unless popped out then in. Because of this I do not use the slot. Also, the auto dimming of the satnav display does not work. I think that this is a safety issue as it is too bright in the dark, but I have drawn a blank at my Honda dealer. I too suffer from the problem of the gearbox being less than fluid when going into second and back into first. The dealer advises that these problems are known to Honda, and may be the subject of a recall. I needed to take the car back to be looked at when the clutch pedal started to feel very strange and started clicking. The dealer advises that I need a new clutch module. Clutch judder, particularly in reverse, is a problem and I cannot see how this can be fixed by correcting the gearbox problem. I am concerned that this and the gearbox problem may be compounded when I start towing a caravan. I concur with others on the quality of the plastics – there are signs of wear and tear that I believe should not be there at this stage. In summary, I am pleased with this car, but concerned that there are some issues that should have been addressed by now and should not be present in a £28k car. I hope that Honda treats these problems with a greater priority.

  • 2.0 i-VTEC EX 5dr

    Allan Doyle , Merseyside . Date: 15/07/2008
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    Bought the car in July 2007 having previously had 2 RAV4's. It's a great car but there are a couple of niggles. The forum here has cars drifting to the left. Mine goes right! Being looked by Honda as we speak (possible tracking issue) as is a very notchy gearbox and clutch judder. Sometimes it will simply not go into 6th. The dealer suggets that this is a gearbox issue of which the clutch judder is related and is looking at this also. Also, it needs 2 rear door catch mechanisms as the previous did not release fully when opening the door. The tailgate is also prone to not catching also. Agree that the interior scuffing is a little annoying. But over all, a fab car but a little disappointed with the issues I have. This is the first Japanese car I have owned over the years (2 previous Honda's, 2 RAV4's & 1 corolla ((What was I thinking!)) that has had some issues.

Honda CR-V 4x4

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014