We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 3 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    3 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
95 reader reviews for Mazda 5 MPV.
  • 2.0D 143 Sport 5dr

    Keith Bowdery , Kent . Date: 22/02/2008
    • Overall verdict
      3 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I have had this car for a little over 2 years now and the only fault I have is that it goes through a set of tyres every 15,000 miles . When a tyre costs £140 each , it works out expensive. The Local dealer said the reason for the wear was not the set up but ' poor roads and speed ramps ' . After a new set of tyres the dealer charged me £80 to re-adjust the set up . Apart from the bad tyre wear , I am pleased with the car . I'm averaging about 38 mpg and this does not alter drastically if I drive with a light or heavy right foot.

  • 2.0 Sport 5dr

    jim smith , argyll . Date: 13/02/2008
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    bought car march 2006.1st service may 2007.rear tyres deemed dangerous 13000 mls. mazda paid.front tyre problem dec 2007 18000mls.down to mesh on extreme inside edge.mazda say not contributing.still 2mm above tread min. indicator. not accepting this.there is obviously a basic setup or design fault here so why can't they admit it & do the decent thing. am shocked at the numbers involved. apart from this a brilliant car. come on mazda !!!

  • 2.0D 143 Sport 5dr

    Liam Doyle Date: 18/01/2008
    • Overall verdict
      3 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    Have owned my Mazda 5 143 sport for 1 year now and it has just gone for its first service which was good and well priced I like the way the car drives and it is very practicable. Although an occasional seven seater is a better discription and even then children in the rear seats is best but its not small by any means. I also think its one of the better looking MPV's on the market, I am however very annoyed with the excessive Tyre wear, all fout tyres in 13000 miles can not be normal, yes mazda has offered to pay half but that is not good enough does this happen with all the other MPV's? I think not, what a shame as this and no crusie control spoils what I would have considered one of the best MPV's out there, unless they can sort out this Tyre wear issue it has to be one of the worst, and that is not to mention the poor MPG figures. 46 MPG so they say ha my 2.0l diesel gets about 32MPG on average and I'm a slow careful driver if its cheap motoring your after look else where, what a shame.

  • 2.0D 143 Sport 5dr

    Trevor Cooper , Antrim . Date: 11/01/2008
    • Overall verdict
      3 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    Where do I begin. Purchased car April 2006 and immediately had the noise from steering when parking and giving the car opposite lock. Dealership unable to fix, and I was informed Mazda was aware of problem !!!!, still not fixed 21 months later. Next turbo blew and car off road for 4 weeks as no turbo in UK !!!!, Next front and rear shocks needed replaced !!! Tyre wear was the worst I have ever seen on any car !!!! all that said I liked the car and have had 2 6's before and have just placed an order for the new 6 Sport. Mazda really need to up "their game" in terms of customer support.

Mazda 5 MPV

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014