We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 3 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    3 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
32 reader reviews for Mazda 6 Estate.
  • 2.0D 134 TS2 5dr

    John Haslett , North Somerset . Date: 02/08/2006
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars

    My car

    Bought the top of the range diesel estate with leather seats, sat nav, climate control and the superb Bose sound system.

    Having recently had BMW 3 conervtible (dreadfully unreliable) and a Merc C220 d coupe (uncomfortable) Audi TT (brilliant) I would rate the Mazda along with the Audi as a quality product. Switchgear, plasticas and controls are quality and easy to use.

    Engine powerful and everything seems 'just right'. If I have a niggle it is that the steering is perhaps a touch light and it is easy to wander if not 100% watchful.

    Overall an excellent car with a build quality that some German manufacturers would find hard to beat.

  • 2.0D 134 TS 5dr

    Matthew Phillips , Northants . Date: 08/06/2006
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars

    My car

    Having now owned the car for three years, we feel it is time for a change. Our car has done 71000 miles without a problem, and we are changing it for a more recent model with the 6 speed 'box and more powerful diesel engine. I just hope the new one is as trustworthy and rewarding to own as the current one.

  • 2.0D 134 TS 5dr

    Alexander Johnston Date: 20/05/2006
    • Overall verdict
      2 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    This car was a dealer demonstrator with 2500 miles on the clock when I purchased it in April 2005, and was registered new in January 2005.

    In August 2005, after 8500 miles, the engine lost power and started to make a loud banging noise as if someone was hitting it with a 5lb mallet. Apparently, one of the rockers had sheared off and a new replacement cylinder head was fitted to rectify the problem. I can't fault the dealer, because they supplied a replacement vehicle for two weeks until the car was repaired.

    In May 2006, at 22,600 miles, the car lost power and started to make a similar noise as before and had to be towed into the dealer for repair. This time, the injector seals had gone, the engine had lost power in two cylinders. Again, the dealer was very helpful and repaired the car within 24 hours.

    Apart from the engine problems, the alarm system would go off when it's hot and sunny and the rear boot space cover made a rather annoying creaking noise. Both problems have been fixed by the dealer.

    The car is a pleasure to drive and holds the road well. However, with the problems I've had over the last year, I have lost faith in the car and have written a letter of complaint to Mazda asking them to replace the vehicle.

  • 2.0D 141 TS2 5dr

    Anthony Grogan Date: 09/08/2005
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I have now driven this car for two years without any problems whatsoever.

    However, I may now have to have my fuel pump replaced (according to the service centre) as I am experiencing the car cutting out when slowing down.

    As a company car driver, I wanted a car that suited me best and it beat off competion with the Passatt, Mondeo and Vectra.

    The interior car noise at high speeds was something I always knew about before I purchased the Mazda 6, but this doesn't bother me as the Bose speaker system shuts it all out.

    Overall, it's a great car and the service centre has been great as well.

    I am now considering the Mazda 5 MPV next year for my replacement vehicle.

Mazda 6 Estate

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014