We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    4 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
18 reader reviews for Mercedes-Benz SL Open.
  • 500 2dr

    Douglas McDonnell Date: 15/09/2006
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I have just had a major problem with water entering the boot and making everything soaking wet.

    When I took it to Mercedes they said that they were aware of the problem and had repaired other cars. They also said that they had developed a modified seal to solve the problem. They replaced the seal to the boot and returned the car.

    It still leaked, despite them saying that it had passed their water test. I took the car back and they changed the seal on the boot lid which appears to have solved the problem. All under warranty.

  • 350 2dr

    angela edwards Date: 13/08/2006
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars

    My car

    Saab 9-3, Volvo C70, BMW Z4 - this is the baby of them all. I'm the cat who got the cream. It's a head-turner.

  • 55 AMG (02-06) 2dr

    Alexander MacLachlan , Surrey . Date: 06/06/2006
    • Overall verdict
      1 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    On 12th May 2003 I purchased a new Mercedes SL 55 AMG

    In March 2004 I experienced a problem with the accelerator. The accelerator behaved erratically and Mercedes explained that there had been a fault with the on-board computer

    On the 9th May 2006 I experienced the same problem but this time it was much more serious in that I was approaching a series of bends I lifted my foot off the accelerator to brake but instead of decelerating the throttle opened up fully and the car accelerated out of control. I braked as hard as I could and just managed to negotiate the bends and bring the car to a halt. This time they detected a fault in the throttle programme

    On 12th May 2006 again the throttle went out of control

    Since then various exchanges took place during which Mercedes asserted that the fault had been diagnosed as a fault with the throttle control unit, which needed to be replaced but the car was out of warranty

    This is a repeated and extremely serious fault with the car originally experienced in March 2004 and the problem has still not been fully rectified. It could have led to a fatal accident or serious injury and are problems of the utmost gravity and are of huge concern.

    Mercedes has to date not addressed these concerns

  • 500 2dr

    paul scott , Hampshire . Date: 04/05/2006
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I've owned an SL500 since summer 2004, bought as a demonstrator from the main dealer to get round the waiting list.

    It's a stunning looking car, and the roof is a treat - it's a coupe or full convertible, whatever you want.

    I find the performance pretty brisk, although my main concern is how unresponsive the seven-speed auto box is - it seems to take an eternity for the box to kick-down two or three times to get from (say) seventh gear to fourth gear to overtake on an A-road. The gearbox also thumps quite noticeably if you lift off at slow speeds. But it does give amazingly long-legged (and economical) cruising. I get 28mpg on a run. Not bad for a 5000cc V8!

    Ride quality is outstanding - it's limo quality. Handling is very good too; the air suspension keeps the car perfectly flat, even when you chuck it round bends, although the steering is a bit anaesthetised.

    The car is a little too wide for UK roads, I find.

    I've had no problems with my car, but have been horrified at the depreciation in two years, even though I've only done about 6000 miles - I have lost about £25,000. Ouch.

    Overall now, I am a bit bored with it and fancy something a bit sportier. This is a nice long-distance GT, but not really a sportscar.

Mercedes-Benz SL Open

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014