We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    4 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
53 reader reviews for Nissan Pathfinder 4x4.
  • 2.5 dCi Acenta 5dr

    james barrett , cornwall . Date: 11/03/2013
    • Overall verdict
      3 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      24

    My car

    Lovely car to drive looks nice, on paper the perfect 4x4. I bought mine in june 2012 it is a 2008 adventura and had 28k on the the clock. It is a solid well built car that does what it says on the tin ( typical nissan). Now for the bad points . The 2.5 engine is a little under powered if you do much towing and is very thirsty at an average of 24mpg. On a run a have a max of 26 mpg. At 30 k the clutch went (luckily under warentee) The car sits in between camps, It has to much in the way of electrical toys to go wrong to be a hard core work horse yet not enough refinement to be luxury. Mine is going after 10 months and 15k miles. Running costs are to high even by 4x4 standards . That said i have enjoyed it and reading other reviews would consider a new one which appears to have the fuel enconomy sorted better.

  • 2.5 dCi Tekna 5dr

    Huw Evans , Ceredigion . Date: 29/01/2013
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars

    My car

    True to my word I bought a second Pathfinder when I came to buying a new car. The cars are identical (apart from colour - that would be strange). MPG is still pityful at about 24-25, tax is still high. Just ahd my 2nd service with Nissan (38k miles). car needed brake pads also and the bill came to £560. Now feels like a new car again though! Other than that I think this is stilll the best family 4x4 out there. Discoveries are still too expensive and unreliable - even a mechanic from Land Rover told me not to buy one. The Pathfinder proved itself once again during our recent snowfall. It was totally reliable and went up and down icy hills like a mountain goat - I will always own a 4x4. When it comes to changing this one, unless there's something very special on the market, I will buy my 3rd Pathfinder. On a personal note, how the hell does What Car only give this car 2 stars?

  • 2.5 dCi S 5st 5dr

    David Stevenson , . Date: 01/11/2011
    • Overall verdict
      1 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      25

    My car

    Bought in December 2008 with only 16,000 miles on the clock,registered July 2007 and now on 1st November 2011 it has only done 39,000 and I regret the day I set eyes on it. Air conditionin went fauly, rear door repainted twice, roof repainted once, on six occasions the engine has died when hiting the kickdown while pulling out to overtake (dangerous and scary), kick strip at drivers door fell off, driver's seat recovered twice, driver's seat fully reclining randomly while driving or stationary, memory positioning of drivers seat packed in and VOX for phone operation faulty and now it is on a recall from Nissan and apparently it maybe in for up to a week, fortunately I've been given a Navara as a courtesy vehicle. When my two year extended warranty expires in July 2012 this machine is history. Haven't yet decided what to replace it with, certainly not a Disco, I've already had that experience!

  • 2.5 dCi SVE 7st 5dr

    paul horton , flintshire . Date: 16/01/2009
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      37

    My car

    I BOUGHT MY CAR NEW 2006 AFTER OWNING A TERRANO 2 FOR 3 YEARS THE RELIABILTY SWAYED ME, I TOW A TWIN AXLE CARAVAN ON RALLIES ALMOST EVERY WEEKEND, ON BANK HOLS & SUMMER HOLS THROUGHOUT FRANCE WE CARAVAN ALL YEAR & THE CAR HAS BEEN BRILLIANT. M.P.G TOWING 30 MPG I KID YOU NOT, (I AM A LGV DRIVING INSTRUCTOR)& TRUCK DRIVER FOR 35 YEARS SO I KNOW HOW TO GET MAXIMUM MPG & KNOW HOW TO DRIVE FRUEGALLY. THE ONLY DOWNSIDE IS ROAD TAX (ALISTAIR DARLING & GORDON BROWN) & THE DEALER FROM CHESTER, I HAD A PROBLEM WHICH WAS EVENTUALLY A CLOGGED FILTER THEY HAD THE CAR FOR A WEEK & FINALY FOUND IT AT A COST OF £274.00 (THIEVES) BUT WHAT CAN YOU DO. AFTER SPENDING £51.000 ON TWO CAR,S THATS HOW THEY TREAT YOU. SO I WON,T GO TO A DEALER EVER AGAIN ALBIET BRILL CARAVANERS TRUCK.P.S SAT NAV & REVERSE CAMERA ARE A CARAVANERS DREAM..... EVERYONE KNOW,S ME AS ACE DRIVER HORTON

Nissan Pathfinder 4x4

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014