We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 3 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    3 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
70 reader reviews for Toyota Yaris Hatchback.
  • 1.3 VVT-i Zinc 3dr

    Simon B Date: 15/05/2008
    • Overall verdict
      2 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      2 out of 5 stars

    My car

    My wife bought a new Yaris in April 2007 and p/x'd it in March 2008. Discounted purchase meant the loss wasn't terrible, but we couldn't keep the car any longer.

    As others have said, it was just so noisy to drive. Anything over 50 mph and the drone from the engine was very intrusive. The side panels next to the rear seats echoed surface water to the point you thought the water was in the cabin!

    Someone else has mentioned the gap in the boot floor when the rear seat was slid forward, defeating the object of a larger surface area. After rain, water would drop in every time the doors were opened - and on the driver's door it fell straight onto the switches, which could lead to future problems.

    Fuel consumption was in the low 40s which was good, though working it out myself gave a lower figure than the "computer". Altogether a very disappointing car, especially given Toyota's reputation. Exchanged it for a new Mazda 2, which is in a different class.

  • 1.3 VVT-i TR 5dr

    Colin Gibson , Cheshire. . Date: 14/05/2008
    • Overall verdict
      1 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      1 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I purchased a 1.3 TR Yaris in March 2008, the car is uncomfortable, noisy, and rattles like a biscuit tin, apparently it was the rear door. In addition the dreaded clutch judder has surfaced and has been exchanged recently but only after insisting, oddly it's now difficult to engage 1st 2nd 3rd, coming down box is the same especially when cold, eases when warm local dealer response has been well very "cool" stating that the remaining gearbox "niggle" will ease and improve with use. I understand that these cars are French built? a colleague has a 2007 1.8 Yaris SR built in Japan... No Problems whatsoever? cannot wait to change this as soon as finances allows. Sadly Toyota product and dealer service is poor.

  • 1.3 VVT-i SR 3dr

    Clare Bengston , CO DURHAM . Date: 13/05/2008
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      47

    My car

    I wrote a review a few months ago and thought I would update my report. There have been two faults with Sat Nav. The garage (Minories, Durham)have been very co-operative and the problem seems to be fixed now. Other than that, I am very pleased with my car. It's very economical and, now that I am more used to it, nippy to drive. I am very happy with my Yaris & look forward to some longer journeys over the summer.

  • 1.3 VVT-i Zinc 3dr

    Pete Smythe Date: 13/05/2008
    • Overall verdict
      1 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      1 out of 5 stars

    My car

    I am not surprised at some of the rather negative reviews on the Yaris.

    I have to agree with some of the previous owners - my vehicle was purchased in March 2008 and has been a nightmare problems with clutch judder (replaced) after a battle with the dealer. It's very noisy inside the cabin (engine & tyre noise).

    The salesman said if there were any problems to give him a ring, not the workshop. As soon as I experienced clutch problems and then difficulty with reverse gear, he asked me 'Why have you phoned me? You want the service department.' I accept this is typical but it's so frustrating.

    The workshop initially denied a problem existed, which meant wasted journeys back and forth.

    When you buy this model it does seem to be a bit of a lottery. The car in front is definitely not a Toyota.

Toyota Yaris Hatchback

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2014