Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    3 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
125 reader reviews for Volkswagen Touran MPV.
  • 2.0 TDI 140 Sport 7st 5dr

    Michael Davies Date: 03/09/2008
    • Overall verdict
      1 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      38

    My car

    Own a 53 plate 138bhp TDi sport. Purchase when 7 months old in June 2004. Whilst it is a nice drive (my wife uses it most of the time) build quality & reliability are absolutely terrible. Here is the catalogue of problems:

    May 2005 - Two new front tyres - Mileage 10,086 September 2005 - Radio replaced under warranty October 2005 - New temp sender fitted & tested Feb 2006 - Two new front tyres - mileage 18,950 May 06 - Two new rear tyres - mileage 20,353 Nov 06 - Two new front tyres - Mileage 25,984 Nov 05 & Nov 07 - Full geometry check - 2nd time paid for by VW. April 07 - New Air intake flap unit - Mileage 29,272 (VW goodwill contribution) May 07 - Rear passenger foot well full of water. Vehicle had in fact been leaking since production (confirmed by Body shop manager). Full new interior fitted but VW still expected a contribution from me of £300. Nov 07 Cam belt fitted - now suffers from hunting / erratic idle on "warm up phase". Just had it serviced and dealership has no idea what the fault is. Up date 17/09/08 - new injector required no change out of £700. Seeking VW goodwill conribution in view of milage which at less than 38k this sort of fault shouldn't happen

    So much for buying an better quality brand, with the costs to date erroding any saving on potential for a higher re-sale value. Next time I'll stick to Vauxhalls - has 6 different cars from them and never had any problems like this.

    03/09/08

  • 1.4 TSI SE 7st 5dr

    Marek Janas Date: 25/08/2008
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars

    My car

    We bought this car in June for our 3+2 family. Before we have opted for Skoda Roomster but when we could not accommodate 3 small children, parents, bike and other family stuff. DSG is excellent. iPod connector gives our children an ocean of music, stories etc. We have ordered seven-seater version because we need sometimes to carry our parents or our children's friends. Suspension is excellent. It is not soft but very stable and not craking.

  • 1.9 TDI 105 SE 5dr

    catheirne arundel , devon . Date: 15/08/2008
    • Overall verdict
      2 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      1 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars

    My car

    i bought my car in nov 05 for just under £16,000.00. i had to replace the clutch costing £435.00 in april 07, it had done 21,000 and now at 29,000 miles the abs control unit has gone and this will cost around £1400.00 to replace. i have contacted my dealership and vw direct and because i haven't had my car serviced through vw (which we don't have to!) they will not offer me any goodwill. i dread to think what is going to go wrong next! i've had new cars before (not vw) and never have i had problems like this. vw products are very poor quality. i didn't realise a vw car costing £16000.00 would only last me three years.

  • 2.0 TDI 140 Sport 5st 5dr

    Billy Dzregah , KENT . Date: 14/08/2008
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      45

    My car

    I really love this car. I bought this car for a couple of reasons mainly to accommodate a growing family, fuel economy, driving comfort, durability (Inside and outside), security, aesthetics, the cool/practical father with mother cubs feel and I must say that this car satisfies all the above an more.

    The build quality and security features was very important to me since I drive 500 miles a week as an IT Consultant. Fuel Economy is another issues which the Touran is very good at for a car within this range @ 45 mpg average includig motorway driving (Not strictly adhering to the 70 mile rule) - Cruise control very easy to use and very effective and amazing a helps lower fuel consumption. DSG an amazing technology where my wife who loves shifting gears can shift her gears and me who will has sworn the oath of allengence to automatic transmission is happy. On board computer is great with information prompts e.g. oil topup, doors not locked, disabled airbags (2 week old in front seat), folding tables at the back so we can have picnics just sitting in the car, loads of visibility allround and toddler and baby looks snug and secure. I had a minor accident on the motorway (driver texting in slow moving traffic @ 25mph and it the touran took all the shock excellently. I bought the car with 10k on the clock and in one year I have done 25,000 miles and the sports seats are very comfortable

    All round I will strongly recommend.

Volkswagen Touran MPV

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2016