We use cookies on whatcar.com to improve your browsing experience and to provide you with relevant content and advertising, by continuing to use our site you agree to this. Please see our privacy policy for more details. Continue

Overall reader verdict 4 out of 5 stars

  • What's it like to drive
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Running costs
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Quality, practicality and equipment
    3 out of 5 stars

Own or drive this car?

Submit your own review here
101 reader reviews for Renault Clio Hatchback.
  • 1.2 16v Sport 3dr

    Rebecca Stevens , . Date: 04/02/2015
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      41

    My car

    I bought a Clio Campus 1.2L 16V as my first car. It was an 08 plate so I expected minimal problems. I was wrong: HOWEVER I do not put this down to the car itself. I bought the car from a dodgy dealer who MOT'd the car themself and signed it off as roadworthy. It was not. The car was previously used as a weekend car so had a mileage of about 38,000. Cosmetically it was spotless- beautiful interior, and very comfortable for me (5'2 lady) who struggled with her instructors car in terms of clutch control, I have small legs.I always feel like I have 100% control over my car. After I purchased the car, it broke down due to to an alternator failure and worn battery. This was no fault of the car and was because neither had been serviced or changed since the car was manufactured nearly 7 years ago. £300 later both were changed and the car was back on the road. In terms of running costs I find the clio extremely cheap to run. Positives : cheap to run, great for smaller people, excellent handling and power steering, toasty heating, looks good (from the front, not a fan of the back but that's personal taste), small so easy to manoeuvre, very forgiving (hard to stall). Negatives: original radio is awful, not good for taller people, apparently uncomfortable for them. Ugly back. Overall would definitely recommend as a first car or for smaller people. Does what it says on the tin.

  • 1.4 16v Expression+ 5dr

    Paul Anderson , Tyne And Wear . Date: 25/11/2013
    • Overall verdict
      3 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      1000

    My car

    Had my 1.4 16v Clio for 3 years now and frankly it is a financial millstone round my neck. I have spent really quite a lot of money maintaining it. Every time the garage has done the MOT and service the report has shown wear, tear and corrosion on something. And something has nearly always broken on it. In the time I have had it the No.1 ignition coil has needed replacing courtesy of the AA, the windscreen wiper blade has split, and both the washer pump and air-con fan motor has broken. That said the car is a nice runner. Not the quickest. But I think it is quite an agile little car. But the fuel costs are low. Having such a small car the engine tank is small meaning it does not need as much fuel as a BMW or Mercedes or Audi. I can go even longer without refuelling due to the time I spend driving. Would it be a good 2nd or 3rd car? No. But excellent as a 1st.

  • Renaultsport 3.0 V6 3dr

    Paul Anderson , Tyne And Wear . Date: 15/11/2013
    • Overall verdict
      4 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      2 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      3 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      1000

    My car

    My first/current car is an 04' 1.4 16v 5dr Clio and the excellent agility round the urban roads and car-parks and the speediness down the motorway as well as its very low fuel costs (£30-£40 fills the tank quite high) is offset by the high running costs due to persistent faults and repair work. Also persistent is the wear and tear of the parts. In early 2011 whilst on the road the No.1 ignition coil went and the AA was called to replace it. In Sept 2011 the refusal of the MOT certificate was due to the high level stop lamp not working and the imbalance in the front brakes. The refusal of one in Sept 2014 was due to the windscreen washer providing insufficient fluid due to the pump being broken and the offside coil spring being broken. As an advisory item the offside rear brake pipe was slightly corroded the anti-roll bar linkage deteriorated and there was 'play' on the nearside and offside front track rod end ball joint. I am sure all that means something to those who are mechanically minded but to me it represents serious issues with the reliability of the Clio. Oh yes, on Oct 2011 the heater fan motor had broken and needed replacing. Totting up just the MOT and service by my garage (inc. things like VAT and labour) the calculator came to £1029.50 over 3 years of ownership. That does not account for the money spend on the AA to replace the No.1 ignition coil and the battery which finally died. Would I get another Clio again? Looking unlikely.

  • 1.2 16v Dynamique 3dr

    James Addison , Stirlingshire . Date: 24/07/2013
    • Overall verdict
      5 out of 5 stars
    • What's it like to drive
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Running costs
      5 out of 5 stars
    • Quality, practicality and equipment
      4 out of 5 stars
    • Average MPG
      47.9

    My car

    I bought this car as my first car and I couldn't have been happier with it. The over-all driving of the vehicle was lovely and very easy even for an inexperienced driver. The steering was light and very responsive, the brakes and accelerator were both just nicely smooth and responsive and I could feel clearly the exact point of acceleration at which the car started increasing speed instead of maintaining/slowing as soon as it happened. The entire cabin also felt really nice, it was comfortable and had everything in it that I needed really. The only down side being that it didn't have any auxiliary port and therefore I had to buy a whole new stereo to accommodate the fact I wanted to listen to my iPod when driving and had to buy something with a USB port. Even though it was a 1.2l, the fact the car was very light meant it was extremely nippy city driving and the handling was great.

    Fuel consumption is excellent, I drove from Scotland to England with a full tank of petrol for 9 hours, and still had 3/8 bars remaining (and this lasted me at least 200 miles extra).

    One of the only cons I had with the car is the fact that sometimes issues did occur, the power assisted steering felt like it started to turn off intermittently leaving it very difficult and harsh to steer, which was the complete opposite of what it mostly was like. The sunroof also had two problems, it leaked when raining, this was fixed, but left it with a god-awful rattle.

    Recommend this car for a first car

Renault Clio Hatchback

Continue to prices, equipment and options »

What Car? buying help and car info

Order a brochure, find your nearest dealer or book a test drive

Haymarket Logo What Car? is brought to you by Haymarket Consumer Media
What Car? is part of Haymarket Motoring
© Haymarket Media Group 2015