Mazda 6 model line-up revised

* Three new 2.2-litre diesels * Blind spot warning system on higher trim levels * New Sport Luxury trim adds extra kit...

Author Avatar
What Car? Staff
12 November 2008

Mazda 6 model line-up revised

The Mazda 6 model line-up is being revised to feature new cleaner, more powerful diesel engines and additional safety equipment from January.

A new 2.2-litre turbodiesel engine is being offered with 123bhp, 161bhp and 182bhp. Depending on the power output, it emits 147-152g/km of CO2 and averages 51.4-49.6mpg. The engines replace the 138bhp 2.0-litre diesel that was previously used.

All models at trim level TS2 or above will have a blind spot lane-change warning system fitted as standard. It operates by illuminating a warning light if a vehicle is in the car's blind spot, which then flashes while an alarm sounds if the driver indicates to move out.

There is also a new trim level, called Sport Luxury. It features the same equipment as the Sport trim, plus leather seats, heated front seats, a BOSE stereo and front and rear parking sensors.

Sport and Sport Luxury models will get keyless entry and a start-stop push button. Previously, only petrol models in these trim ranges had these features.

Prices have yet to be announced.