Toyota RAV4 gains extra standard safety kit

Toyota's Safety Sense pack now comes as standard with models above the entry Active trim...

Toyota RAV4 gains extra standard safety kit
Author Avatar
Jimi Beckwith
17 Oct 2016 16:50

The Toyota RAV4 SUV now features Toyota’s Safety Sense pack as standard on all models above the entry-level Active trim.

The Safety Sense pack consists of a pre-collision system, adaptive cruise control, lane departure warning, automatic lights and road sign recognition.

Business Edition cars and above now get Toyota’s Touch 2 with Go multimedia system including sat-nav, as well as all-round parking sensors and footwell lighting. A three-year subscription to map updates is also included.

Safety Sense’s addition to the range as a standard-fit item – or a £1060 option on Active trim – means that autonomous emergency braking (AEB) will come as standard on the RAV4 on the selected specs, in addition to the other tech upgrades. The move brings the car industry closer to AEB becoming standard on all cars.

Toyota claims that the addition of Safety Sense brings the insurance of equipped RAV4s down by six groups.

Additionally, a new black rooflining has been applied to top-spec Excel cars, while this spec’s sat-nav system also gets voice recognition and 3D mapping.