Every What Car? Car of the Year winner since 1978

Being named What Car? Car of the Year is the highest honour a car can receive – here is every winner in the 40-year history of the award...

1. Every What Car? Car of the Year winner since 1978
What Car? Car of the Year Award winners
Renault 20 TS
Peugeot 305
Vauxhall Astra
Volkswagen Golf GTI
Mercedes-Benz 200T
MG Metro
Peugeot 205 GR
Volkswagen Golf GL
Saab 9000 Turbo 16
Renault 21 Savanna GTX
BMW 7 Series 735i
Ford Fiesta 1.1LX
Rover 214 Si
Rover Metro 1.1L
Volkswagen Golf 1.8 GL
Ford Mondeo 1.8 GLX
Peugeot 306 1.6 LX
Volkswagen Polo 1.3 CL
Peugeot 406 2.0 LX
Renault Mégane Scénic 1.6 RT
Land Rover Freelander 1.8i
Rover 75 1.8 Club
Skoda Fabia 1.4 16V Comfort
Ford Mondeo 1.8 LX 5dr
Toyota Corolla 1.6 VVT-i T3 5dr
Seat Ibiza 1.2 12C 5dr
Volkswagen Golf 1.6 FSI S 5dr
Land Rover Discovery TDV6 S auto
BMW 3 Series 320d ES
Vauxhall Corsa 1.4 Club AC 5dr
Jaguar XF 2.7D V6 Luxury
Ford Fiesta 1.25i 82 Zetec 5dr
Peugeot 3008 1.6 THP 150 Sport
Audi A1 1.4 TFSI Sport
Volkswagen Up 1.0 75 High Up 5dr
Audi A3 Sportback 1.4 TFSI 122 SE
Nissan Qashqai 1.5 dCi Acenta 2WD
Skoda Fabia 1.2 TSI 90 SE
Audi A4 3.0 TDI 218 Sport
BMW 5 Series 520d SE
Which car will win in 2018?
Image 1 of 42

Tonight we'll celebrate the best cars in every sector and name our overall Car of the Year at the What Car? Car of the Year Awards.

The list of previous winners includes models that have gone on to be huge sellers, including the Ford Fiesta, Volkswagen Golf and Nissan Qashqai.

What Car?'s influence on car buyers is second to none and built on a relationship of trust with our readers that has been earned over more than 40 years.

Ahead of the reveal of the 2018 What Car? Car of the Year, here's every winner since the award's inception in 1978. Have you owned any of them?

Click the play button to listen to our Car of the Year podcast special, which is also now available on iTunes.

pageof 42